By the 1960s, Slippery Rock State Teachers College began to offer students more opportunities than teaching future teachers. The name change to Slippery Rock State College reflects this, as SRSC began expanding its curriculum.
In 1961, a new women’s dormitory was built on campus. Rhoads Hall was dedicated to Dr. Margaret Rhoads, who served as the Dean of Women in 1948 and a professor of mathematics at Slippery Rock for 43 years. The financing for the naming of Margaret V. Rhoads Hall was completed by Dr. Matilda Bailey, who also developed a professor laureate award in Dr. Rhoads' honor.
(Photograph, black and white, c. 1980)
Weisenfluh Dining Hall
The campus dining hall, designed and built by the W. G. Eckles Architectural Company in 1962, is dedicated to Dr. Norman Weisenfluh, Slippery Rock President from 1956-1964.
(Photograph, black and white, c.1980)
Weisenfluh still operates as a dining hall today, providing students and employees with a food court experience for all its dining options.
(Photograph, color, c.2000)
Morrow Field House
Morrow Field House is one of the largest and most heavily used buildings on campus. Built in 1962, Morrow Field House was dedicated to James E. Morrow, the first principal of the Normal School from 1889-1890.
(Photograph, black and white, 1962)
Morrow Field House and Thompson Field
Morrow Field House, fully constructed.
(Photograph, color, 1973)
The Jack C. Dinger Special Education Building
Built in 1962 and physically connected to Morrow Field House, The Jack C. Dinger Special Education Building was the first home of the Special Education Department. The building is dedicated to Dr. Jack C. Dinger, the first chair and founder of the Special Education Department in 1989.
(Photograph, black and white, 1989)
Laboratory School: Training Special Education Teachers with Hands-on Experience
The Special Education Building used to have an annex that contained a model school for the area's students who needed their services. This allowed students to work with those children and develop the skills necessary to teach as Special Education teachers.
(Photograph, black and white, c. 1960s)
Vincent Science Hall
This round building is Vincent Science Hall. Built in 1968, it was designed by the architect, C. A. Lake. Vincent Science Hall contains classrooms, laboratories, offices, and the campus planetarium.
(Photograph, black and white, c.1980s)
Vincent Science Center Today
Today, Vincent Science Center is the home to the Biology, Psychology, Physics, and Nursing Departments. In 2011, the building was remodeled into a modern learning center.
(Photograph, color, c.2011)
Dr. Arthur P. Vincent
Dr. Arthur P. Vincent was a professor and the chair of the Science Department at Slippery Rock Normal School and State Teachers College from 1923-1940. Vincent Science Hall was dedicated to him for his years of service to the college.
(Photograph, black and white, c.1930)
Built in 1966 as a private dormitory and known initially as the Rivera Hall, Kraus Hall had a capacity for 340 residents and housed students until 2009. Stanley Kraus, a member of the SRU Foundation Board, donated the building to the University on July 1, 1984. Abandoned, the university had the building demolished in 2018.
(Photograph, black and white, c.1980)
Spotts World Culture Building
Built in 1969, the Spotts World Culture Building was dedicated to Dr. Carle Brooks Spotts in 1979.
(Photograph, black and white, c.1970)
Dr. Carle B. Spotts
Dr. Carle B. Spotts led the English Department for 25 years, founding English, Speech and Drama majors at Slippery Rock. Dr. Spotts was regarded as one of the most versatile and respected faculty members at the college.
(Photograph, black and white, c.1960)
Only the Beginning
The 1960s saw the beginning of a significant expansion to Slippery Rock State College that continued over the next three decades. The College continued to expand to meet the demands of its new role.