Service Directory
- Archives & Special Collections(724) 738-4295
- Circulation Desk(724) 738-2637
- Main Office(724) 738-2631
- Government Documents(724) 738-2665
- Instructional Materials Center(724) 738-2663
- Interlibrary Loan(724) 738-4457
- Information Desk(724) 738-2641
- Technology Learning Center(724) 738-2663
- Tutorial Center(724) 738-2845
- Writing Center(724) 738-2654
Databases
The following are some databases often used by students in English 220. Depending on your topic, you may want to use specialized databases instead; you can check the LibGuide for the subject area most closely related to your topic, or ask a librarian for suggestions.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides a multidisciplinary coverage of scholarly information, including podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN, and videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full-text scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, reports, and book reviews in virtually every discipline.
- America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovers history and culture of the United States and Canada and selected articles from scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities.
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowThe largest full-text journals, magazines, and books art research database with strong international coverage, it also offers thousands of images.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowThis collection documents artistic traditions across many times and cultures, and includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and other forms of visual culture.
- Communication Source This link opens in a new windowIt offers full-text articles for communication studies, media studies, linguistics, speech pathology, rhetoric, and discourse.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a multidisciplinary database that includes English and Social Sciences journals. You can use it to locate scholarly articles from a variety of disciplinary perspectives. Includes both recent and historical content.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowAn interdisciplinary collection of high-quality, peer-reviewed journals, with an emphasis on the humanities and social sciences.
Subject Guide
Research Help
Research Services - Spring 2025
Get live research assistance from a librarian via online chat or in-person (Ask at the library's 1st Floor Circulation Desk) during the following hours (All times EST).
| Monday - Thurs. | 10am - 4pm |
| Friday | 10am - 2pm |
Research assistance is also available via the Ask a Librarian e-mail form (you will receive a reply by the next business day).
You may also consider contacting your subject specialist librarian directly via the Ask Your Librarian page to ask a question directly or to schedule an appointment.