Monographs and Book Chapters
- Library CatalogUse the library catalog to search for books and book chapters for your case study.
- E-Z BorrowE-Z Borrow allows you to search for and request books from other libraries. Requested books are sent by mail to the library, and you will be notified by email when they arrive. You will also be notified by email if we are not able to obtain the book for you.
Please be aware that this process does take some time (plan on 1-2 weeks) and that you must pick up your book at the library. Electronic books cannot be accessed via interlibrary loan, due to vendor/publisher restrictions.
Popular and Trade Periodicals
Some writing genres appropriate for your case study can be found in databases covering popular and trade periodicals. Examples include:
- Essays
- Opinion pieces, commentary
- Memoirs
- Interviews
- Public scholarship
To find these types of material, try the following databases:
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full-text scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, reports, and book reviews in virtually every discipline.
- General OneFile This link opens in a new windowGeneral OneFile, provides periodical and news information through an intuitive, user-friendly search interface for researches at all levels.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1970- Present. Full-text coverage of minority issues in periodical literature. Includes Spanish language content.
Scholarly Periodical Databases--Literature
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly articles and books in a wide range of subject areas, primarily social sciences and humanities. Also features an image search using materials derived from ARTstor.
You can use the scholarly journal databases to locate examples of various academic genres, including:
- Scholarly articles (of course!)
- Empirical studies
- History-of-the-discipline articles
- Scholarship-of-teaching articles
- Reviews
- Abstracts
The following are some databases to try. Depending on the focus of your case study, others may also be appropriate.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowFocus on all forms of human communication. World coverage includes literature, folk literature, music, art, rituals, linguistics and language materials.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowIncludes biographies, bibliographies & critical analysis of authors from every age & literary discipline. Includes full text of journals on literature and literary criticism.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowIt is designed to meet the needs of students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. Full-text articles and book reviews.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowAn interdisciplinary collection of high-quality, peer-reviewed journals, with an emphasis on the humanities and social sciences.
Scholarly Periodical Databases--Education
If your focus for the case study relates to teaching (at any level), you will want to try these databases as well:
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowEducational Resource Information Center, is an index to educational-related literature. If available, links to full text are included.
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowThis resource offers a vast amount of full-text sources covering all levels of education and educational specialties.
Organizations and Individuals
Websites for professional organizations can provide examples of:
- Proposals
- Calls for proposals
- Documents about the structure and functions of the organization (constitution, bylaws, committee descriptions, etc.)
- Articles about issues in the profession
- Reports
- Blogs
- Discussion boards
Individual or departmental websites can provide examples of:
- Proposals
- Blogs
- Syllabi and/or assignments
- Reports
- Modern Language AssociationThe official MLA website,
- National Council of Teachers of EnglishOrganization for teachers of English/Language Arts at elementary, middle, high school, and college levels.
- Conference on College Composition and CommunicationKnown as "4 C's," this organization holds and annual convention and publishes the journal College Composition and Communication ("3 C's").
- MLA "Allied Organizations" listYou can use this list to identify other professional organizations relevant to your case study topic.
Subject Guide
Research Help
Research Services - Spring 2025
Get live research assistance from a librarian via online chat or in-person (Ask at the library's 1st Floor Circulation Desk) during the following hours (All times EST).
| Monday - Thurs. | 10am - 4pm |
| Friday | 10am - 2pm |
Research assistance is also available via the Ask a Librarian e-mail form (you will receive a reply by the next business day).
You may also consider contacting your subject specialist librarian directly via the Ask Your Librarian page to ask a question directly or to schedule an appointment.