LibGuides: English: ENGL 102: Critical Writing

National Newspapers

SRU faculty, staff, and students may create a free account to read The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal. First-time users must register before they can access the content.

National Newspaper Registration Instructions

New York Times This link opens in a new window
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window

Choosing a Topic

Need to choose your own topic for a research paper? The following are some places to browse for an interesting, timely topic - and find your first source or two while you are at it!

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides objective, forward-looking reporting that is designed to encourage discussion, to help readers think critically and to facilitate further research.

JStor Daily
JStor Daily is an online magazine featuring original articles about events and issues in the news, with links to related scholarly content in the JStor database.
Pew Research Center
A "a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world." Offers opinion polling data and other statistics about a variety of issues.

Writing Advice

The following are a few recommended websites for advice about writing.

Elements of Style
Free ebook of the classic 1918 guide by William Strunk. The revised edition by Strunk and White is in the library's print collection at PE1408 .S772 2000x.
Purdue OWL
Purdue University's Online Writing Lab offers resources to help you with all aspects of writing: composition, mechanics, citation, and more.

Library Quick Links

Library Map

Databases

The following are generalist databases useful for common English 102 topics. Depending on your topic, you may want to review the subject research guide most related to your topic for additional databases to search. You can always ask a librarian for suggestions, too!

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database of scholarly literature.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full text coverage from scholarly publications in many areas of academic study.
Biography In Context This link opens in a new window
Biographical information on more than 185,000 people from throughout history.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides objective, forward-looking reporting that is designed to encourage discussion, to help readers think critically and to facilitate further research.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides periodical and news information.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains books and articles on a variety of humanities-related topics.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes biographies, bibliographies & critical analysis of authors from every age & literary discipline. Includes full text of journals on literature and literary criticism.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for 20 major national and international newspapers and more than 230 regional newspapers.
Adam Matthew Collection This link opens in a new window
The Adam Matthew collection provides access to primary source content in 78 collections, with a focus on historical and literary periods.

Slippery Rock University Archives

For some sessions of Critical Writing, professors require students to find information about Slippery Rock's history. A great place to find this information is the University Archives. The digital collections listed below contain tons of primary source material from Slippery Rock throughout time. If you are having a hard time browsing the digital resources, or you would like to see what physical artifacts the Archives has, please Contact the Archives.

The Rocket (1934-Present)
The Rocket is Slippery Rock University’s student newspaper, which began publishing in 1934 and continues to present day. The University Archives provides digital copies of the entire run of the paper.
The Slippery Rocket (1918-1930)
The Slippery Rocket preceded The Rocket as Slippery Rock’s campus newspaper. It was published jointly by students and faculty from 1918 to 1930.
Saxigena
The Saxigena was Slippery Rock’s yearbook from 1911-2005. This collection features selected digitized issues from 1958-1994 and one born digital issue from 2007.
SRU Photographs
The SRU Photographs Collection features images that span the history of the institution from State Normal School to the present day. Highlights include aerial views of campus from the 1940s to the 1990s, senior pictures of the classes of 1898 and 1902, Slippery Rock State Teachers College armed forces personnel, and the North Hall fire of 1937.
SRU Postcards
This collection features vintage postcards of the Slippery Rock campus, both hand-tinted and photographic. Included are South Hall, the Model School, a rare interior view of the Chapel, and early 20th century acrobatics on the campus lawn.