LibGuides: English: Resources on Shakespeare

Online Resources

No Fear Shakespeare
This site provides modernized versions of Shakespeare's plays, presented side-by-side with the original full text.
Folger Shakespeare Library
The world's largest Shakespeare collection. Here you can find information about Shakespeare, scans of early folios, text and images related to plays, and copies of other Renaissance manuscripts and works of art.
Internet Shakespeare Editions
Contains high quality materials on Shakespeare's works, performances of his plays, and information about his life. Visit the "Library" section of the site and hover over "Texts" at the top to find full-text of the plays.
Project Gutenberg
Provides access to over 57,000 free ebooks, with a focus on older works whose copyright has expired. This repository contains books about Shakespeare, as well as many editions of his works.
Bartleby: Shakespeare
This site contains a list of notable quotes from Shakespeare's works, as well as scholarship on his plays and full-text copies of the plays themselves.
LibriVox
Free public domain audiobooks. Many of Shakespeare's sonnets are available to download and listen to here. LibriVox recordings are made by volunteers, so availability and quality may vary.

Resources on Shakespeare

Several courses at SRU focus on Shakespeare, so if you find yourself in one of those classes, this page will help you with your assignments. The online resources mentioned will allow you to find searchable full-text editions of the plays and see what the plays looked like in early folios. If you are having trouble understanding Shakespeare's language, visit No Fear Shakespeare to find modern English versions of the plays. For research, the databases on this page contain a plethora of information on Shakespeare, so check these before heading to other databases.

Databases

Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
It contains every work printed in the English language from 1473-1700 such as Boyle and Bacon; music by Henry Purcell; prayer books, and other primary resources.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand provides high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content.
Gale Literary Index This link opens in a new window
The index includes the Contemporary Author Series and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism. Features complete biographies on authors and criticism on their works.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly articles and books in a wide range of subject areas, primarily social sciences and humanities. Also features an image search using materials derived from ARTstor.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
A video streaming with more than 30,000 documentaries, movies, and educational videos from producers such as Criterion Collection, PBS, Great Courses, Kino Lorber and more.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes biographies, bibliographies & critical analysis of authors from every age & literary discipline. Includes full text of journals on literature and literary criticism.
Adam Matthew Collection This link opens in a new window
The Adam Matthew collection provides access to primary source content in 78 collections, with a focus on historical and literary periods.