Federal Depository Library Program
Bailey Library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law (Title 44, United States Code).
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
- Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsThe CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as links to the full text, when available.
Public Access to Government Information
The government documents collection is housed on the ground floor of Bailey Library. Patrons will be escorted by a library faculty or staff member to browse the collection, or items can be requested by patrons and retrieved by library staff. Government information is searchable in the library catalog, which also includes links for government documents in electronic format. GovInfo is the official federal government portal to government information.
Federal depository resources are available and usable for all library patrons regardless of library affiliation, disability, age, residency, or other patron status. Any member of the general public may use depository resources in all formats at a Federal depository library free of charge and without impediments.
Pennsylvania Documents
Bailey Library is a selective depository for documents from the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. This collection contains items such as the state budget and various agency reports and statistics. Records for this collection are also found in the library catalog.
Pennsylvania Websites
- Agency DirectoryThis website provides links and more information for agencies, commissions, bureaus, boards, and other offices in Pennsylvania.
- Commonwealth of PennsylvaniaThe official website for the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.
- Pennsylvania BulletinThe Pennsylvania Bulletin is the Commonwealth's official publication for information and rulemaking.
- Pennsylvania CodeThe Pennsylvania Code is the official codification of rules and regulations issued by Commonwealth agencies and other statutorily authorized documents.
- Pennsylvania State Data CenterThe PA State Data Center is Pennsylvania's official source for population and economic statistics.
- Tax Forms and PublicationsThe Pennsylvania Department of Revenue website provides state tax forms and publications available to download.
FDLP Resource Guides
- FDLP Resource GuidesFDLP Resource Guides include 29 subjects on topics related to the federal government for the general public. Subjects include addiction, education, elections, employment, environment, social issues, veterans, voting rights, and more.
FDLP Basic Collection
Federal Depository Libraries are required to provide access to the Basic Collection, which includes the following resources.
- Assistance ListingsProvides detailed, public descriptions of Federal assistance listings available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); Federally recognized Indian tribal governments, Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi- public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups, and individuals.
- Ben's Guide to the U.S. GovernmentPresents educational content for the public on the workings of the U.S. Government and U.S. history, with a focus on civics.
- Budget of the United States GovernmentContains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications issued throughout the fiscal year.
- Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsA finding tool for publications from all three branches of the U.S. government. Updated daily, it contains descriptive records for current and historical publications and provides direct links to those online.
- Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)The annual edition of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by departments and agencies of the U.S. Government.
- Compilation of Presidential DocumentsThe official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary.
- Congress.govProvides information about legislative activities, publications, and other related materials for members of Congress and the public. .
- Congressional RecordThe official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress, published daily when Congress is in session. (Note: This is the daily edition. There is also a bound edition.)
- The Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and InterpretationAlso known as the Constitution Annotated, includes the U.S. Constitution and analysis and interpretation, with in-text annotations of cases decided by the Supreme Court of the United States.
- Economic IndicatorsPublished monthly by the Council of Economic Advisors for the Joint Economic Committee, provides economic information on GDP, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
- The Economic Report of the President to the CongressAn annual report, issued by the Executive Office of the President and the Council of Economic Advisors, providing on overview of economic progress, with extensive data appendices.
- Explore Census Data (data.census.gov)A source for population, economic, housing, and geographic information and data about the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island areas.
- Federal RegisterThe daily publication of the rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, along with executive orders.
- GovInfoA database providing authenticated access to official publications from all three branches of the U.S. Government.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH)A resource for occupational and career information, providing profiles on a majority of jobs in the United States. Profiles describe the work environment, education and training needed, a ten year outlook, and median pay for workers.
- Official Congressional DirectoryIncludes biographical and directory information about members of the House and Senate, committee memberships, terms of service, and related content.
- Public Papers of the Presidents of the United StatesOfficial publication of the President's addresses, writings, and remarks.
- Social Security HandbookResource for the most common questions about Social Security.
- United States CodeThe codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States, divided by broad subjects into 53 titles.
- The United States Government ManualThe official handbook of the U.S. Government, providing information on the agencies from all three branches, quasi-official agencies, international organizations in which the United States participates, boards, commissions, and committees.
- United States ReportsContains the final version of the opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States.
- United States Statutes at LargeContains the permanent laws enacted during each session of Congress.
- USA.govA subject-based portal to Federal services and resources online. A Spanish site is also available.
Subject Guide
Search Our Catalog
Library Databases
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowAn online research tool that creates maps to analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. Includes US Census history 1790-2000, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study 1980-2000.
- Westlaw This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Westlaw is a legal database that includes secondary and primary legal sources. It contains statutes, codes, and case law. Westlaw also includes the legal encyclopedias, journals, treatises, and law reviews, as well as public and private business information and coverage of news sources.
Related Research Guides
Research Help
Live Ask a Librarian Hours
Monday through Thursday
10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Friday
10:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
(Use online chat or ask at the Circulation Desk to contact a librarian during live hours)