Skip to main content

English

Free Online Resources

Free access until June 30, 2020. 

Citation Assistance

As an English student, you will need to use MLA 8th Edition citation style in your assignments.  You can find help with this by going to our MLA Citation guide.  You can also find the MLA Handbook in the reference section on the first floor of the library.
 

 

Primary Sources and Archival Material on the Web

The following is a curated list of free sites that offer literary and other cultural texts, generally in the public domain.

SRU Digital Collections

Welcome!

Welcome to the English research guide!  This guide is meant for anyone taking an English course, whether you are an English major, fulfilling a writing requirement, or just taking a class for fun.  If you cannot find what you are looking for in the guide, please contact the librarian for assistance.

Using the Guide

This Home page contains lists of resources where you can find citation help, choose a database for your research, or locate English-related primary source materials.  To navigate the guide for more information, use the tabs at the top of the page.  The Library Basics tab contains several pages with in-depth information on how to use library resources for your research.  The remaining tabs provide resources tailored to specific classes or topics.  If your class or topic is not listed and you would like to get personalized help, please contact the librarian.

Databases

These databases are recommended for English majors / masters and their coursework. For resources specific to your course, see the tabs at the top of the guide.  If your course is not listed, use the resources on this page or contact a librarian for more a more tailored list.

How to Use Specific Databases

Subject Guide

Rocco Cremonese's picture
Rocco Cremonese
Contact:
201 Bailey Library
rocco.cremonese@sru.edu
(724) 738-2657

Library Quick Links

Service Directory

Ask A Librarian

Summer Hours 9am-4pm (EST) M-F
E-mail a Librarian