Introduction
This page provides access to several library databases and government resources that may be helpful in pursuing the creation or modification of a business. Other pages, in particular the Company Research and Industry Research pages, may also yield information helpful for business research. Last but not least, the Library Research Tips research guide provides information about general library and database searches. This information may be useful for using the Library Discovery Search or Library Databases to find news and other information about entrepreneurship related topics and opportunities.
B Corp Certification
- B Lab Global SiteB Corp Certification is a designation that a business is meeting high standards of verified performance, accountability, and transparency on factors from employee benefits and charitable giving to supply chain practices and input materials.
Reference Resources
Encyclopedia of American IndustriesCall Number: HC102 .E53 2011ISBN: 9781414486833Publication Date: 2011-06-16
Encyclopedia of Emerging IndustriesCall Number: HC102 .E54 2011ISBN: 9781414486888Publication Date: 2011-06-01- Household SpendingISBN: 9781940308395Publication Date: 2014-07-15Note: This is an e-Book. If you are trying to read it off-campus, use your SRU Username and Password to log in at the KLN page.
Read All About It
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete indexes a lot of trade publications that may help inform your entrepreneurial ideas and decisions. - Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new windowProvides information about countries, company and industry profiles, SWOT reports, and financial data.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld can give you invaluable Industry Information reports about many different topics. Search by the first 5-digits of a NAICS code (See the Industry Research tab for more information), keyword, or company. - Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowMergent Online is ideal for learning about other companies that may operate in the industry(s) you're targeting for your business. For this purpose it is ideal for compiling a list of competitors.
- Westlaw This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Westlaw is a legal database that includes secondary and primary legal sources. It contains statutes, codes, and case law. Westlaw also includes the legal encyclopedias, journals, treatises, and law reviews, as well as public and private business information and coverage of news sources.
Search the Catalog
Bailey Library provides access to over 400 books, e-books, and streaming videos with an LC subject heading of "Entrepreneurship". To review them, go to Advanced Search in the library's Discovery Search, and structure your search as it appears below.
Try adding other keywords related to your business interests as well - either combined with a subject of Entrepreneurship to search just within the Entrepreneurship books we offer - or search any field for terms like Entrepreneurship, investing, starting a business, and add a keyword related to your subject.
Government Resources
- Census Business BuilderA suite of services that provide selected demographic and economic data from the Census Bureau for specific types of users in a simple to access and use format.
- Census DataReplacing American Factfinder in early 2020, data.census.gov provides access to Census Data.
- EDGARFree access to company financial filings.
- NAICS to SIC CrosswalkNote: This is based off of government resources, but is not actually a government resource. At best these crosswalks are often an educated guess and may not always apply.
- QuickFactsAt a glance demographic and population information about a county or region.