A note on abstracts and indexes
Abstracts and indexes in print or on CD ROM, as described in the Communication Research textbook by Hocking, Stacks, and McDermott, have largely been replaced by article databases that contain a mixture of full-text articles from some periodicals, and abstracts and citations for others. To include abstracts and citations in your database search, simply do not select the "full text only" option. Articles that are not full-text in any of our databases can be requested through interlibrary loan, which is fast and free.
Purdue OWL
- APA CitationA strongly recommended resource for citation help!
As discussed during your library class, the Online Writing Lab at Purdue University has some great resources that will help you with writing and citing for this class.
- Primary ResearchAdvice from the Purdue OWL about conducting a study, designing survey or interview questions, etc.
- Writing Experimental ReportsThis tutorial is aimed at Psychology students writing up their first study; however, a lot of the advice applies to writing up your Communication study as well.
Journal Databases
Use these databases to access the scholarly literature in communication and related fields. These databases are also one of the best places to search for trade publications related to IMC fields.
- Communication Source This link opens in a new windowIt offers full-text articles for communication studies, media studies, linguistics, speech pathology, rhetoric, and discourse.
- Communications and Mass Media OneFile This link opens in a new windowCommunications and Mass Media OneFile is a subsection of Gale OneFile focusing on articles, periodicals, and other materials related to the study of communication and the mass media.
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citations dating back to 1637.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowAn interdisciplinary collection of high-quality, peer-reviewed journals, with an emphasis on the humanities and social sciences.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly articles and books in a wide range of subject areas, primarily social sciences and humanities. Also features an image search using materials derived from ARTstor.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIt offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Abstracts and full-text articles starting in 1895.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text articles of scholarly journals in all disciplines of business, and financial data, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowIt is designed to meet the needs of students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. Full-text articles and book reviews.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar uses the familiar Google interface to search scholarly literature. Some results can be accessed full-text right from Google Scholar; in other cases you will need to access the article through a library database.
Newspapers and Magazines
These databases contain current and historical newspapers and general-interest magazines.
- American Periodicals This link opens in a new windowContains digitized images from American magazines and journals between 1741 and 1940. Spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II.
- General OneFile This link opens in a new windowGeneral OneFile, provides periodical and news information through an intuitive, user-friendly search interface for researches at all levels.
- Newspapers.com This link opens in a new windowOffers full page newspaper images with searchable full-text for millions of newspapers. The collection includes digital reproductions.
- Historical Newspapers: The New York Times This link opens in a new windowThe historical New York Times (1851-2017) provides easily-searchable first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society, and events of the time.
Subject Guide
National Newspapers
SRU faculty, staff, and students may create a free account to read The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal. First-time users must register before they can access the content.
- New York Times This link opens in a new window
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Government Information
- CensusDemographic data from the US Census.