eBooks
Bodies of Sound by
From the ragtime one-step of the early twentieth century to the contemporary practices of youth club cultures, popular dance and music are inextricably linked. This collection reveals the intimate connections between the corporeal and the sonic in the creation, transmission and reception of popular dance and music, which is imagined here as 'bodies of sound'. The volume provokes a wide-ranging, interdisciplinary conversation that includes scholarship from Asia, Europe and the United States, which explores topics from the nineteenth century through to the present day and engages with practices at local, national and transnational levels. In Part I: Constructing the Popular, the authors explore how categories of popular music and dance are constructed and de-stabilized, and their proclivity to appropriate and re-imagine cultural forms and meanings. In Part II: Authenticity, Revival and Reinvention, the authors examine how popular forms produce and manipulate identities and meanings through their attraction to and departure from cultural traditions. In Part III: (Re)Framing Value, the authors interrogate how values are inscribed, silenced, rearticulated and capitalized through popular music and dance. And in Part IV: Politics of the Popular, the authors read the popular as a site of political negotiation and transformation.
Publication Date: 2013-04-10
The Audience Experience by
The Audience Experience identifies a momentous change in what it means to be part of an audience for a live arts performance. Together, new communication technologies and new kinds of audiences and audience research have transformed the expectations of performance, and The Audience Experience explores key trends in the contemporary presentation of performing arts for audiences, among them convergence marketing and cocreation, children and young people as audiences, and the screening of live performance. The book also presents case studies of audience engagement and methodology, reviewing both conventional and innovative ways of collecting and using audience feedback data. Directed to performing arts companies, sponsors, stakeholders, and scholars, this collection of essays moves beyond the conventional arts marketing paradigm to build new knowledge about how audiences encounter, value and experience quality in the performing arts.
Publication Date: 2013-08-15
Learning and Teaching Writing Online by
Learning and Teaching Writing Online: Strategies for Success takes a fresh look at the challenge of supporting writers online, and reports on research from around the world to offer a range of learning and teaching strategies. The main themes are feedback in online environments, collaboration through online environments, and course design for online environments. This book is designed for higher education practitioners who are interested in exploring pedagogic approaches for giving feedback and supporting collaborative writing online. It will also appeal to researchers of writing development and technology enhanced learning.
Publication Date: 2015-04-17
Teaching Literature at a Distance by
Featuring essays by an international array of literature scholars, this volume examines the challenges and opportunities of teaching literature at Open and Virtual Universities in a wide range of national, cultural and linguistic contexts. It presents cutting-edge explorations of seminal issues, including: literature pedagogy and curriculum building; canon and theory debates; the uses of hypertext and other digital tools for literary instruction; the writing and evaluation of educational material; and the teaching of digital literature. These issues are addressed from various critical and theoretical viewpoints, which reflect the contributors' long educational and administrative involvement with open and distance learning (ODL) in a rich diversity of cultural and academic frameworks. As the first scholarly attempt to bring together questions of literature pedagogy and issues in open and distance, online and blended learning, this book is an essential resource for literature instructors and administrators in ODL, e-learning and b-learning programs. It offers techniques enabling scholars in more traditional academic settings to make literature courses more effective and stimulating by using tools developed for distance learning.
Publication Date: 2010-03-04
Articles
Collins, R., Kang, H., Biniecki, S., & Favor, J. (2015). Building an accelerated online graduate program for military officers. Online Learning Journal (OLJ), 19(1), 102-111.
---
Hamann, K., Pollock, P. H., Smith, G. E., & Wilson, B. M. (2017). Distance education and the scholarship of teaching and learning in political science. Politics, 37(2), 229-238. https://doi.org/10.1177/0263395716632384
---
Lawes, Carolyn. "Talking Less but Saying More: Teaching U.S. History Online." The Journal of American History 101, no. 4 (2015): 1204-1214.
---
McConville, Brendan, and Barbara Murphy. "What is Online? A National Survey of Course Offerings in Music and a Case Study in Music Theory." College Music Symposium. Vol. 57. College Music Society, 2017
---
McCormack, Suzanne. "Teaching History Online to Today's Community College Students." The Journal of American History 101, no. 4 (2015): 1215-1221.
---
Rawlings, Jared. “Best Practices for Teaching with Emerging Technologies.” British Journal of Music Education, vol. 30, no. 3, Nov. 2013, pp. 421–424. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1017/S0265051713000302
---
Sitren, A. H., & Smith, H. P. (2017). Teaching criminal justice online: Current status and important considerations. Journal of Criminal Justice Education, 28(3), 352-367. https://doi.org/10.1080/10511253.2016.1254267
Multimedia Databases
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window This collection documents artistic traditions across many times and cultures, and includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and other forms of visual culture.
This link opens in a new window
- Associated Press Newsroom This link opens in a new window A primary source that offers photos, audio bites, and graphics from 1900 on.
- AVON (Academic Video Online) This link opens in a new window It provides streaming videos from a variety of content such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, from around the world and across all subject areas.
- This link opens in a new window
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Films on Demand provides high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window A video streaming with more than 30,000 documentaries, movies, and educational videos from producers such as Criterion Collection, PBS, Great Courses, Kino Lorber and more.
- Films On DemandIncludes documentary and educational videos on Asia and the Pacific.
Language Practice
- Duolingo Provides online web resources for conversational practice with modern languages.