eBooks
- O'Reilly Books This link opens in a new window O'Reilly is both a book catalog and an online reference library for computer science and information technology. It contains electronic books in full text.
Note: To use the below eBooks you MUST log in to O'Reilly first (See link above) and pass through the University's Login page. If afterwards you are unable to access via the links below, try logging in via the O'Reilly database and searching for the books' titles.
Online and Blended Business Education for the 21st Century by
Examines the state of research of online and blended learning in business disciplines with the intent of identifying opportunities for meaningful future research and enhancing the practice of online teaching in business schools. The book evaluates research from business disciplines such as accounting, economics, finance, information systems (IS), management, marketing, and operations/supply chain management. The author reports on topics attracting interest from scholars in the respective disciplines, the methods commonly used to examine those topics, and the most noteworthy conclusions to date from that research. Written by a leading scholar on online learning in the business disciplines The author is the current editor of the leading Learning and Education journal Focused on online and blended learning in business schools
Publication Date: 2010-07-01
The Successful Virtual Classroom by
Virtual training and instruction has allowed students from different continents to learn simultaneously from a distinguished professor, as well as dispersed employees of a transnational company to participate together in training seminars. Because of this unprecedented flexibility it has provided for today's learning professionals, virtual training is undoubtedly here to stay--which means designers and facilitators need to learn to adapt their programs and delivery styles if they are going to be as effective virtually as they are in the physical classroom.The Successful Virtual Classroom goes beyond merely introducing the technology that has already become commonplace in many areas of society today, and instead seeks to offer trainers proven techniques tailored specifically to engage line online audiences. By being shown how to best utilize some easy-to-use tools, checklists, and worksheets, readers will learn how to:* Make the most of virtual classroom features such as content and screen sharing, annotation tools, polls, and breakout rooms* Weave chat responses into the discussion* Compensate for the absence of body language* Monitor feedback* Engage individuals with different learning styles* Encourage audience contribution* Meet the unique needs of global participants* And moreFeaturing case studies from Oracle, UPS, and others who have maximized this new medium's potential, as well as icebreakers and interactive exercises designed for an online environment, this book helps readers create programs that truly drive learner engagement.
ISBN: 9780814434291Publication Date: 2014-10-09
Articles
Bourelle, Tiffany, Bourelle, Andrew, Spong, Stephanie, & Hendrickson, Brian. (2017). Assessing Multimodal Literacy in the Online Technical Communication Classroom. Journal of Business and Technical Communication, 31(2), 222-255.
---
Collins, D., Weber, J., & Zambrano, R. (2014). Teaching Business Ethics Online: Perspectives on Course Design, Delivery, Student Engagement, and Assessment. Journal of Business Ethics, 125(3), 513-529.
---
Corbin, Lillian, & Bugden, Lisa. (2018). Online teaching: The importance of pedagogy, place and presence in legal education. Legal Education Review, 28, 1-21.
---
Jaskari, Harri, & Jaskari, Minna-Maarit. (2016). Critical Success Factors in Teaching Strategic Sales Management: Evidence from Client-Based Classroom and Web-Based Formats. Marketing Education Review, 26(3), 171-185.
---
Messersmith, A. (2015). Preparing Students for 21st Century Teamwork: Effective Collaboration in the Online Group Communication Course. Communication Teacher, 29(4), 219.
Video Databases
- AVON (Academic Video Online) This link opens in a new window It provides streaming videos from a variety of content such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, from around the world and across all subject areas.
This link opens in a new window
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Films on Demand provides high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window A video streaming with more than 30,000 documentaries, movies, and educational videos from producers such as Criterion Collection, PBS, Great Courses, Kino Lorber and more.
Other Databases
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Provides full-text articles of scholarly journals in all disciplines of business, and financial data, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- This link opens in a new window
- Communication Source This link opens in a new window It offers full-text articles for communication studies, media studies, linguistics, speech pathology, rhetoric, and discourse.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window This online resource offers access to over 700 United States industries. Includes industry reports, industry profiles, economic and demographic information.
- This link opens in a new window
- Explore Census Data Data.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. The vision for data dissemination through data.census.gov is to improve the customer experience by making data available from one centralized place so that data users spend less time searching for data content and more time using it. For guidance on using data.census.gov, please see our Resources page at https://www.census.gov/data/adrm/what-is-data-census-gov.html. The vision for data.census.gov stems from overwhelming feedback that the Census Bureau has received to simplify the way customers get data. The Census Bureau continues to work on the customer experience so that it is not necessary for data users to know Census Bureau jargon or perform a complicated search to find the data that they need. In the past, prior to the inception of data.census.gov, the Census Bureau collected information, processed edits, reviewed the data, and disseminated it through multiple websites and applications. Data users had to know how to navigate these sites and applications in order to receive access to the end results.
- GlobalEDGE Funded in part by the U.S. Department of Education Title VI B grant, globalEDGE delivers a comprehensive research tool for academics, students and businesspeople. Connect with over 47,000 people using the gE Network while tapping into a directory of over 5000 quality resources. globalEDGE provides tools and resources to efficiently research nearly any international business question you may have.