eBooks
E-Learning and the Science of Instruction by
The essential e-learning design manual, updated with the latest research, design principles, and examples e-Learning and the Science of Instruction is the ultimate handbook for evidence-based e-learning design. Since the first edition of this book, e-learning has grown to account for at least 40% of all training delivery media. However, digital courses often fail to reach their potential for learning effectiveness and efficiency. This guide provides research-based guidelines on how best to present content with text, graphics, and audio as well as the conditions under which those guidelines are most effective. This updated fourth edition describes the guidelines, psychology, and applications for ways to improve learning through personalization techniques, coherence, animations, and a new chapter on evidence-based game design. The chapter on the Cognitive Theory of Multimedia Learning introduces three forms of cognitive load which are revisited throughout each chapter as the psychological basis for chapter principles. A new chapter on engagement in learning lays the groundwork for in-depth reviews of how to leverage worked examples, practice, online collaboration, and learner control to optimize learning. The updated instructor's materials include a syllabus, assignments, storyboard projects, and test items that you can adapt to your own course schedule and students. Co-authored by the most productive instructional research scientist in the world, Dr. Richard E. Mayer, this book distills copious e-learning research into a practical manual for improving learning through optimal design and delivery. Get up to date on the latest e-learning research Adopt best practices for communicating information effectively Use evidence-based techniques to engage your learners Replace popular instructional ideas, such as learning styles with evidence-based guidelines Apply evidence-based design techniques to optimize learning games e-Learning continues to grow as an alternative or adjunct to the classroom, and correspondingly, has become a focus among researchers in learning-related fields. New findings from research laboratories can inform the design and development of e-learning. However, much of this research published in technical journals is inaccessible to those who actually design e-learning material. By collecting the latest evidence into a single volume and translating the theoretical into the practical, e-Learning and the Science of Instruction has become an essential resource for consumers and designers of multimedia learning.
Publication Date: 2016-02-19
Books
Reach Everyone, Teach Everyone by
Advocates for the rights of people with disabilities have worked hard to make universal design in the built environment "just part of what we do." We no longer see curb cuts, for instance, as accommodations for people with disabilities, but perceive their usefulness every time we ride our bikes or push our strollers through crosswalks. This is also a perfect model for Universal Design for Learning (UDL), a framework grounded in the neuroscience of why, what, and how people learn. Tobin and Behling show that, although it is often associated with students with disabilities, UDL can be profitably broadened toward a larger ease-of-use and general diversity framework. Captioned instructional videos, for example, benefit learners with hearing impairments but also the student who worries about waking her young children at night or those studying on a noisy team bus. Reach Everyone, Teach Everyone is aimed at faculty members, faculty-service staff, disability support providers, student-service staff, campus leaders, and graduate students who want to strengthen the engagement, interaction, and performance of all college students. It includes resources for readers who want to become UDL experts and advocates: real-world case studies, active-learning techniques, UDL coaching skills, micro- and macro-level UDL-adoption guidance, and use-them-now resources.
Publication Date: 2018-10-01
Assuring Quality in Online Education by
Online distance education continues to grow at a fast pace, even outpacing the overall growth of U.S. higher education. Demands for quality are coming from all shareholders involved. As if caught by surprise, a patchwork response to quality is often the typical organizational response. The result can be inconsistent and uncoordinated levels of value to those invested in online learning. This often promotes negative images of the educational experience and institution. Comprised of highly regarded experts in the field, this edited volume provides a comprehensive overview of quality assurance, a snapshot of current practices and proven recommendations for raising standards of quality in online education. Topics discussed include: * Improving practices for teaching online * Using educational analytics for quality assurance and improvement * Accessibility: An important dimension of quality assurance * Assuring quality in online course design * Assuring quality in learner support, academic resources, advising and counseling * The role and realities of accreditation This text clearly answers the call for addressing quality from a broad, deep and coordinated understanding. It addresses the complexities of quality assurance in higher education and offers professionals top-shelf advice and support. *This text is also appropriate for students enrolled in Educational Technology and Higher Education Administration Masters and PhD programs
Publication Date: 2014-01-20
Integrating Educational Technology into Teaching by
Note: This is the loose-leaf version of Integrating Educational Technology into Teaching and does not include access to the Enhanced Pearson eText. To order the Enhanced Pearson eText packaged with the loose-leaf version, use ISBN 0134046919. This widely popular resource balances the theory-based "why" and the practical "how" of using technology to support and shape the future of technology in education. In it, readers see how technology integration strategies link to specific learning theories and how teachers can plan for technology integration, complete with opportunities to practice integrating technology by designing curriculum to meet teaching and learning needs. Integrating Educational Technology into Teaching's comprehensive technology integration framework--The Technology Integration Planning Model (TIP Model)--is built on a balance of research and proven classroom practices and shows teachers how to create an environment in which technology can effectively enhance learning. Carefully-selected examples and exercises in each chapter encourage teachers to reflect on their practice as they develop the insights, knowledge, and skills they need to integrate technology into content area curricula. Featured are hundreds of lesson examples and recommended resources. The Enhanced Pearson eText features embedded video, Interactive Technology Learning Checklists and exercises, author-recorded Big Ideas overviews, and additional classroom-ready example assessments. Improve mastery and retention with the Enhanced Pearson eText* The Enhanced Pearson eText provides a rich, interactive learning environment designed to improve student mastery of content. The Enhanced Pearson eText is: Engaging. The new interactive, multimedia learning features were developed by the authors and other subject-matter experts to deepen and enrich the learning experience. Convenient. Enjoy instant online access from your computer or download the Pearson eText App to read on or offline on your iPad(R) and Android(R) tablet.* Affordable. Experience the advantages of the Enhanced Pearson eText along with all the benefits of print for 40% to 50% less than a print bound book. * The Enhanced eText features are only available in the Pearson eText format. They are not available in third-party eTexts or downloads. *The Pearson eText App is available on Google Play and in the App Store. It requires Android OS 3.1-4, a 7" or 10" tablet, or iPad iOS 5.0 or later.
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Articles
Benson, S. N. K., & Ward, C. L. (2013). Teaching with technology: Using TPACK to understand teaching expertise in online higher education. Journal of Educational Computing Research, 48(2), 153-172.
---
Frazer, C., Henline Sullivan, D., Weatherspoon, D., & Hussey L. (2017). Faculty perceptions of online teaching effectiveness and indicators of quality. Hindawi, 2017, 1-6.
---
Kebritchi, M., Lipschuetz, A., & Santiague, L. (2017). Issues and challenges for teaching successful online courses in higher education: A literature review. Journal of Educational Technology Systems, 46(1), 4-29.
---
Moreira, J.A., Henriques, S., de Fatima Goulao, M., & Barros, D. (2017). Digital learning in higher education: A training course for teaching online. Open Praxis, 9(2), 253-263.
Websites and Online Guides
- Resources for Teaching and Learning During this Period of Social Distancing This brief guide aims to help educators, administrators, and parents better navigate the pitfalls of making the quick jump to online learning. It curates useful tools and resources with a view to maintain the indispensable human touch of teaching and learning during this period of social distancing.
- Benefits and Challenges of Online Teaching For those preparing to teach online, the prospect might seem both exciting and daunting. Plenty of instructors have already taught online and have much to share from their experience. Here are some of the benefits and challenges faculty frequently report when teaching online.
Video Databases
- AVON (Academic Video Online) This link opens in a new window It provides streaming videos from a variety of content such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, from around the world and across all subject areas.
This link opens in a new window
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Films on Demand provides high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window A video streaming with more than 30,000 documentaries, movies, and educational videos from producers such as Criterion Collection, PBS, Great Courses, Kino Lorber and more.
Higher Education Databases
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowThis resource offers a vast amount of full-text sources covering all levels of education and educational specialties.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowEducational Resource Information Center, is an index to educational-related literature. If available, links to full text are included.