Introduction
All SRU students have access to a personal subject-specialist librarian regardless of their major or minor status. As an Exploratory Studies student at SRU, this includes you too! This research guide has been developed to help you conduct general library research while providing you with information resources that may be valuable in helping you choose a major, minor, or career path.
National Newspapers
SRU faculty, staff, and students may create a free account to read The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal. First-time users must register before they can access the content.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowCurrent and past editions available. To access the NYT, follow the following steps:
1. Go to the New York Times website via link or go to (https://www.nytimes.com)
2. Click Login at the top right corner of the NYT homepage
3. Select the option at the bottom: “Continue with work or school single sign-on” 0
4. Follow the prompts to login with your SRU email - Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowAccess to the digital edition of the Wall Street Journal is available to all SRU faculty, staff, and students. Registration is required using an SRU email address. Click here to begin registering via https://wsj.com/sru.
Service Directory
- Archives & Special Collections(724) 738-4295
- Circulation Desk(724) 738-2637
- Main Office(724) 738-2631
- Government Documents(724) 738-2665
- Instructional Materials Center(724) 738-2663
- Interlibrary Loan(724) 738-4457
- Information Desk(724) 738-2641
- Technology Learning Center(724) 738-2663
- Tutorial Center(724) 738-2845
- Writing Center(724) 738-2654
Databases
The following are useful general databases for beginning researchers. Depending on your topic, you may want to review the subject research guide most related to your topic for additional databases to search. You can always ask a librarian for suggestions, too!
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides a multidisciplinary coverage of scholarly information, including podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN, and videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full-text scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, reports, and book reviews in virtually every discipline.
- Biography In Context This link opens in a new windowFull-text biographical information of people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowProvides objective, forward-looking reporting that is designed to encourage discussion, to help readers think critically and to facilitate further research.
- General OneFile This link opens in a new windowGeneral OneFile, provides periodical and news information through an intuitive, user-friendly search interface for researches at all levels.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowProvides cover-to-cover full text for selected regional, national (U.S.) & international newspapers.In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
Slippery Rock University Archives
For some sessions of Critical Writing, professors require students to find information about Slippery Rock's history. A great place to find this information is the University Archives. The digital collections listed below contain tons of primary source material from Slippery Rock throughout time. If you are having a hard time browsing the digital resources, or you would like to see what physical artifacts the Archives has, please Contact the Archives.
- The Rocket (1934-Present)The Rocket is Slippery Rock University’s student newspaper, which began publishing in 1934 and continues to present day. The University Archives provides digital copies of the entire run of the paper.
- The Slippery Rocket (1918-1930)The Slippery Rocket preceded The Rocket as Slippery Rock’s campus newspaper. It was published jointly by students and faculty from 1918 to 1930.
- SaxigenaThe Saxigena was Slippery Rock’s yearbook from 1911-2005. This collection features selected digitized issues from 1958-1994 and one born digital issue from 2007.
- SRU PhotographsThe SRU Photographs Collection features images that span the history of the institution from State Normal School to the present day. Highlights include aerial views of campus from the 1940s to the 1990s, senior pictures of the classes of 1898 and 1902, Slippery Rock State Teachers College armed forces personnel, and the North Hall fire of 1937.
- SRU PostcardsThis collection features vintage postcards of the Slippery Rock campus, both hand-tinted and photographic. Included are South Hall, the Model School, a rare interior view of the Chapel, and early 20th century acrobatics on the campus lawn.
Business, UX, and Outreach Librarian
Research Help
Research Services - Spring 2025
Get live research assistance from a librarian via online chat or in-person (Ask at the library's 1st Floor Circulation Desk) during the following hours (All times EST).
| Monday - Thurs. | 10am - 4pm |
| Friday | 10am - 2pm |
Research assistance is also available via the Ask a Librarian e-mail form (you will receive a reply by the next business day).
You may also consider contacting your subject specialist librarian directly via the Ask Your Librarian page to ask a question directly or to schedule an appointment.