Streaming Video
-
AVON (Academic Video Online) This link opens in a new windowIt provides streaming videos from a variety of content such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, from around the world and across all subject areas.
-
Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowFilms on Demand provides high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content.
-
Kanopy BASE This link opens in a new windowKanopy BASE provides unlimited access to a pre-curated collection of more than 10,000 streaming film titles.
National Newspapers
SRU faculty, staff, and students may create a free account to read The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal. First-time users must register before they can access the content.
-
New York Times This link opens in a new window
-
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Databases
-
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides a multidisciplinary coverage of scholarly information, including podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN, and videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
-
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full-text scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, reports, and book reviews in virtually every discipline.
-
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovers history and culture of the United States and Canada and selected articles from scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities.
-
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides abstracts and bibliographic references to topics ranging from botany to microbiology to pharmacology.
-
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowProvides objective, forward-looking reporting that is designed to encourage discussion, to help readers think critically and to facilitate further research.
-
Diversity & Ethnic Studies Collection This link opens in a new windowWith 5,500 titles from more than 230 publishers, this collection features eBooks covering the topics of diversity, equity, and inclusion.
-
Diversity Studies OneFile This link opens in a new windowDiversity Studies OneFile is a subsection of Gale OneFile that focuses on articles and periodicals related to the study of diversity.
-
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new windowCombined authoritative content to support global awareness and viewpoint commentaries on significant topics such as Food Security, Genocide, and Human Rights.
-
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new windowGlobal Road Warrior provides detailed write-ups about all aspects of the world's countries. Some focuses include culture, customs, education, and history.
-
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Unmatched in its scope and breadth of historical and related literature.
-
History Collection This link opens in a new windowWith 21,100 eBooks, the History Collection provides a range of quality materials, including introductory texts for undergraduates and more detailed works for advanced scholars.
-
Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowIt is designed to meet the needs of students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. Full-text articles and book reviews.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly articles and books in a wide range of subject areas, primarily social sciences and humanities. Also features an image search using materials derived from ARTstor.
-
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a variety of viewpoint essays and editorials revolving around current and historical issues and topics. Part of the Gale in Context series.
-
Project Muse This link opens in a new windowAn interdisciplinary collection of high-quality, peer-reviewed journals, with an emphasis on the humanities and social sciences.
-
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new windowIt offers access to peer-reviewed journals in subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, medicine, and more.
-
Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowAn online research tool that creates maps to analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. Includes US Census history 1790-2000, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study 1980-2000.
-
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIt offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Abstracts and full-text articles starting in 1895.
-
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new windowCovers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, and social structure.
-
World History in Context This link opens in a new windowGale in Context: World History provides access to primary sources, reference, and multimedia content related to world history ranging from the ancient world to the current age.
Librarian
Research Help
Fall and Spring 2025
On-Demand Hours (Walk-in or Chat)
Monday-Thursday: 10am - 4pm
Friday: 10am - 2pm
Via e-mail form: Ask a Librarian (You will receive a reply within 24 hours.)
By Appointment: Contact your subject specialist librarian directly or review availability. To find your subject specialist, visit the Find Your Librarian page.
Service Directory
-
Archives & Special Collections(724) 738-4295
-
Circulation Desk(724) 738-2637
-
Main Office(724) 738-2631
-
Government Documents(724) 738-2665
-
Instructional Materials Center(724) 738-2663
-
Interlibrary Loan(724) 738-4457
-
Information Desk(724) 738-2641
-
Technology Learning Center(724) 738-2663
-
Tutorial Center(724) 738-2845
-
Writing Center(724) 738-2654