Library Subject Headings
Library of Congress (LC) Subject Headings can be used to quickly review texts related to Hospitality, Event Management, and Tourism. Because this is a unique, diverse field, a little extra work is required to choose an appropriate Subject Heading. Below are some good examples to try using an Advanced Search by the Subject Field in Discovery.
Hospitality Industry
Tourism
Eco-Tourism
Special Events
Hotel Management
Restaurant Management
Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full-text scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, reports, and book reviews in virtually every discipline.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text articles of scholarly journals in all disciplines of business, and financial data, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- Cabell's Directories This link opens in a new windowCabell's Directories helps researchers locate journals to seek publication in by providing information about journal submission guidelines, acceptance rates, review process and other pertinent information. (Note: Cabell's currently only works with on-campus networks.)
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citations dating back to 1637.
- globalEDGEglobalEDGE is a free resource maintained by the International Business Center at Michigan State University. It offers data on a slew of sources of interest to international entrepreneurs and students of international business, including country profiles, trade blocs, risk reports, and more.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE offers well-researched information related to all aspects of humanity's impact on the environment.
- Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new windowOffers access to competitive benchmarking data compiled from public and private companies.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowProvides the company overviews, ratios, prospects, and more. This is an ideal resource for company or competitive research. (Note: This database is limited to 20 concurrent users.) Access to Mergent Online will end on June 30, 2025.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new windowIs a collection of full-text newswires from all over the world with coverage from business, political, economic, and other international news events.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowA unique source for the comprehensive identification of both practical and research literature on sport, physical fitness, and physical education topics.
- Westlaw This link opens in a new windowWestlaw is a legal database that includes secondary and primary legal sources. It contains statutes, codes, and case law. Westlaw also includes the legal encyclopedias, journals, treatises, and law reviews, as well as public and private business information and coverage of news sources. Access to Westlaw will end July 29, 2025.
Subject Guide
Research Help
Research Services - Summer 2025
Summer research assistance is available via the Ask a Librarian e-mail form (you will receive a reply by the next business day).
You may also consider contacting your subject specialist librarian directly via the Find Your Librarian pages to ask a question directly or to schedule an appointment.
Service Directory
- Archives & Special Collections(724) 738-4295
- Circulation Desk(724) 738-2637
- Main Office(724) 738-2631
- Government Documents(724) 738-2665
- Instructional Materials Center(724) 738-2663
- Interlibrary Loan(724) 738-4457
- Information Desk(724) 738-2641
- Technology Learning Center(724) 738-2663
- Tutorial Center(724) 738-2845
- Writing Center(724) 738-2654