Useful Resources
- Library Research Tips GuideChock full of information about searching for articles and using Bailey Library's online resources.
Media Bias Chart
- Ad Fontes Media (Media Bias Chart)This resource attempts to place media organizations on a chart indicating their political bias and their factual reliability (or lack thereof).
Finding Sources and Creating a Search Strategy
- Finding Sources and Creating a Search StrategyNew to library research? This handout will introduce you to Library Databases, the Library Discovery Search, and show you how to create a search strategy for your topic.
Finding and Researching an Issue - General Databases
The following library databases provide access to a variety of current periodicals videos, and other materials that may help you identify an issue to speak or write about.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full-text scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, reports, and book reviews in virtually every discipline.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides a multidisciplinary coverage of scholarly information, including podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN, and videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowProvides objective, forward-looking reporting that is designed to encourage discussion, to help readers think critically and to facilitate further research.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a variety of viewpoint essays and editorials revolving around current and historical issues and topics. Part of the Gale in Context series.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIt offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Abstracts and full-text articles starting in 1895.
- Westlaw This link opens in a new windowWestlaw is a legal database that includes secondary and primary legal sources. It contains statutes, codes, and case law. Note: This may be advanced for what you are researching for your Civil Discourse presentations, but if you need legal information Westlaw is the best database the library subscribes to.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowFilms on Demand provides high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content.
- AVON (Academic Video Online) This link opens in a new windowIt provides streaming videos from a variety of content such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, from around the world and across all subject areas.
