LibGuides: Physical Therapy: Resources

Databases

Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine OneFile This link opens in a new window Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine OneFile is a subsection of Gale OneFile focusing on articles and periodicals related to physical therapy, sports medicine, exercise science, and other topics.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window A unique source for the comprehensive identification of both practical and research literature on sport, physical fitness, and physical education topics.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed citations may link to full-text articles or books. This free database includes MEDLINE (searchable using MeSH), full-text biomedical and life sciences journals, and books.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window Specifically designed for nursing students. Includes journals and reference materials, streaming video for common procedures, peer-reviewed nursing articles, and more.
Scopus This link opens in a new window This is the most extensive database citation resource, including international journals.

Summary or Background Information

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window A comprehensive medical resource that includes textbooks, practice guidelines, diagnostic tests, patient education, drug dosing, cases, and quick reference tools.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window An evidence-based, physician-authored resource for point-of-care decisions. Cases management, images, and references are included as well as links to related topics.
OregonPDF in Health & Performance This link opens in a new window Graduate dissertations and theses in areas related to health and performance.

APTA EBP Resources Some relevant links include: APTA Clinical Practice Guidelines, CPGs from the APTA Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy, CPGs from the APTA Academy of Neurologic Physical Therapy, and the APTA Academy of Pediatric Physical Therapy.
PEDro- Physiotherapy Evidence Database The freely accessible, includes clinical practice guidelines relevant to physical therapy.

Single Studies

Many databases have special tools to help you filter results to answer a clinical query.

REHABDATA Contains abstracts of research literature related to rehab and disability.

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window The Using PubMed in Evidence-Based Practice tutorial will walk you through using the database in support of EBM, such as how to use PubMed Clinical Queries.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window Specifically designed for nursing students. Includes journals and reference materials, streaming video for common procedures, peer-reviewed nursing articles, and more.

Synopses of Syntheses

Synopses of syntheses summarize the information from a single synthesis (e.g., a summary of the evidence found in a systematic review).

Cochrane Clinical Answers This link opens in a new window It provides readable, evidence-based answers to hundreds of clinical questions. Sources offer an answer and relevant evidence.

Cochrane Plain Language Summaries Provide publicly accessible summaries of health evidence.

Syntheses

A synthesis is collecting and analyzing all available evidence (research studies) to answer a research question. Data from syntheses can be statistically analyzed, including meta-analyses.

PEDro- Physiotherapy Evidence Database

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window It contains full-text articles and protocols on healthcare. Sources are evidence-based and peer-reviewed to minimize bias. Data is often statistical meta-analysis.

PubMed- Systematic Review Filter Use "Review" filters in article databases to limit retrieval to evidence syntheses.

Clinical Queries

Cochrane Clinical Answers This link opens in a new window It provides readable, evidence-based answers to hundreds of clinical questions. Sources offer an answer and relevant evidence.