Research Process
Developing a research question
- Identify a specific topic of your interest
- Ask questions on that topic
- Investigate your topic
- Start research to find answers to your questions
Discovery:
- Search for resources in the library and beyond
- Search for all types of resources, including full text articles
Library Catalog
- Search for books, journals, and audio-visual materials
- Search for resources in this library only
Selected Library Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate
- Berklee Music & Health Institute Research Collection
- CINAHL Complete
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
- Dissertations and Theses
- Education Source
- ERIC
- GrantSelect
- Health Source
- Medline Complete
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
- PsycARTICLES
- PsycInfo
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
- ScienceDirect
- SocINDEX with Full Text
- Sound Health Network Clearinghouse
Searching Article Databases
- Formulate search keywords and syntax
- Start with simple search
- Narrow or broaden your search
- Use limiters and thesaurus
- Work with search results
- Export citations
Citation Format and Bibliography
Electronic Journals
- The Arts in Psychotherapy
The Arts in Psychotherapy is a dynamic, contemporary journal publishing evidence-based research, expert opinion, theoretical positions, and case material on a wide range of topics intersecting the fields of mental health and creative arts therapies. - Dialogues in Music Therapy Education
Dialogues in Music Therapy Education aims to highlight critical conversations around, and innovations in, music therapy education and clinical training through the dissemination of creative and scholarly works. - Journal of Music Therapy
An official journal of the American Music Therapy Association. Publishes authoritative articles on current music therapy research and theory, including all type. - Music Therapy Perspectives
An official journal of the American Music Therapy Association. Publishes articles focused on the clinical benefits of music therapy. - Nordic journal of music therapy
This journal covers music therapy in the nordic & Baltic countries; includes philosophical articles, qualitative & quantitative research articles, classical articles, dialogues, reviews, texts from practice, and overviews of new texts in the field of music therapy - A World Forum for Music Therapy
An Open Access peer reviewed journal that invites interdisciplinary dialogue and discussion about music, health, and social change. The journal nurtures a critical edge that refines the focus on inclusiveness, socio-cultural awareness, and social justice.
Music Therapy E-Books
Music Therapy Research (Third Edition) by Call Number: ML3920 .M8996 2016ISBN: 9781937440893Publication Date: 2016
Where Music Helps: Community Music Therapy in Action and Reflection by ISBN: 1351537032Publication Date: 2017-07-05
Need Help?
Research Help
Live Ask a Librarian Hours
Monday through Thursday
10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Friday
10:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
(Use online chat or ask at the Circulation Desk to contact a librarian during live hours)
Request Full Text Articles
- If fulltext is not available in the database, click the "Check Availability" link to check other available sources of full text.
- If Library does not have access to full article, submit an article request at ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan Program).