Media - Public Performance Rights and Streaming Videos - Copyright

What are Public Performance Rights?

Public Performance Rights (PPR) grant the legal right to show a film or other media in a public setting. Normally these rights are managed by the media producer or distributor. Showing a film publicly without obtaining PPR is a violation of copyright law.

PPR are not required for:

Home viewing
Face-to-face teaching

PPR are required for:

All screenings of copyrighted media outside of the classroom. This includes:
- Student club or group events
- Extracurricular activities or events
- Film series
- Lectures

Netflix and Other Subscription Streaming Services

Subscription streaming services such as Netflix and Amazon have detailed license agreements that describe how their content can be used. Typically these licenses are limited to personal, non-commercial use and do not allow streaming of their content in a classroom or other public venue. When you create a personal account for a streaming service, you agree to the terms of the license, which takes precedence over any potential copyright exceptions (e.g., fair use). Most personal subscription services cannot be used in the classroom or in public performances. Consult the Terms of Use to see what is permitted in your license agreement.

Netflix Documentaries

Netflix allows limited screening rights for some documentaries. Faculty with their own Netflix accounts must verify that films are available for "one-time educational screening." Details and terms of this service are provided on the Netflix website at: https://help.netflix.com/en/node/57695.

Public Domain Films

Films that are in the Public Domain are able to be screened in a public venue.

Public Domain Films from the National Film Registry
Provided by the Library of Congress

Library Streaming Services with PPR

The library has three databases that offer streaming films. AVON and Films on Demand include Public Performance Rights for all films. Kanopy includes Public Performance Rights for many but not all films. See the information below to identify Kanopy films with Public Performance Rights.

AVON (Academic Video Online) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
It provides streaming videos from a variety of content such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, from around the world and across all subject areas.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand provides high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
A video streaming with more than 30,000 documentaries, movies, and educational videos from producers such as Criterion Collection, PBS, Great Courses, Kino Lorber and more.

PPR for Kanopy

To determine whether a Kanopy film has Public Performance Rights, look for the PPR icon on the film's information page. The icon appears above the running time and looks like this:

DVDs in Bailey Library

DVDs in Bailey Library’s collection are primarily documentaries and educational videos rather than feature films. In general, the library does not buy DVDs with public performance rights, although some films may already have PPR when purchased. Films with PPR can be shown outside the classroom in a public location on the Slippery Rock University campus when no admission fee is charged. To determine whether PPR is available for a DVD in Bailey Library's collection, please contact library.acquisitions@sru.edu.

Questions

Contact: Heather Getsay, heather.getsay@sru.edu

Social Sciences and Government Information Librarian
Resource Acquisitions Librarian

View more information here: https://sru.libguides.com/copyright