North America: The Historical Geography by Thomas F. McIlwraithThis classic text retains the superb scholarship of the first edition in a thoroughly revised and accessibly written new edition. With both new and updated essays by distinguished American and Canadian authors, the book provides a comprehensive historical overview of the formation and growth of North American regions from European exploration and colonization to the second half of the twentieth century. Collectively the contributors explore the key themes of acquisition of geographical knowledge, cultural transfer and acculturation, frontier expansion, spatial organization of society, resource exploitation, regional and national integration, and landscape change. With six new chapters, redrawn maps, a new introduction that explores scholarly trends in historical geography since publication of the first edition, and a new final chapter guiding students to the basic sources for historical geographic enquiry, North America will be an indispensable text in historical geography courses.
A Regional Geography of the United States and Canada by Chris MaydaIn this comprehensive new text, Chris Mayda offers an exciting alternative to conventional North American geographies. Throughout her thorough discussion of the physical and human geography of the United States and Canada, the author weaves in the key themes of environment and sustainability. Her inclusive and cohesive narrative highlights not only the diversity and richness of each region but the fundamental connections that link the continent. In the course of her research, Mayda traveled to every state and province in the United States and Canada, imbuing her writing and photographs with authenticity and immediacy. She traces the problems each region faces but also illuminates the positive actions that Americans and Canadians are taking to position their countries as healthy leaders in the world economy. Combining incisive analysis, rich description, human stories, and vibrant photographs, this text offers a complete and vivid portrait of the region from human, physical, and cultural perspectives. Designed expressly for ease of teaching and learning, the book features four-color photographs and maps throughout, chapter highlights, key term and place listings for each chapter, discussion questions, and a glossary, plus PowerPoint slides, and a sustainability blog on the book's website: http: //everythingisconnectedblog.wordpress.com/.
The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Human Geography by John Agnew; James S. Duncan (Editor)This volume provides an up-to-date, authoritative synthesis of the discipline of human geography. Unparalleled in scope, the companion offers an indispensable overview to the field, representing both historical and contemporary perspectives. Edited and written by the world′s leading authorities in the discipline Divided into three major sections: Foundations (the history of human geography from Ancient Greece to the late nineteenth century); The Classics (the roots of modern human geography); Contemporary Approaches (current issues and themes in human geography) Each contemporary issue is examined by two contributors offering distinctive perspectives on the same theme
Books in Bailey Library
Search for books and e-books by subject or keyword using the library catalog,or browse the shelves on the 3rd floor:
Mathematical Geography, Cartography
Oxford Dictionary of Geography by Susan MayhewThis invaluable dictionary provides comprehensive coverage in one volume of both human and physical geography. For this third edition, existing entries have been fully revised and updated, and 345 new new entries have been added, making this essential reference for all students of geography,whether at school or university.It is the most up-to-date dictionary of geography available, with over 6,000 clear and concise definitions. Authoritative entries encompass the range of the subject, including cartography, surveying, meteorology, climatology, ecology, population, industry, and development, and there is up-to-datetreatment of topics such as plate tectonics, remote sensing, geographic information systems, and aerial differentiation. The Factfinder appendix with key economic and and population statistics for nearly 40 countries has also been brought fully up to date.
Call Number: G63 .M39 2004 x, 1st floor
Publication Date: 2004
The Field Guide to Geology by David Lambert; Diagram Group StaffWritten by a team of eminent geologists and educators, ""The Field Guide to Geology, New Edition"" features revised information that brings the previous edition up to date. Clear graphics and simple field-guide procedures offer readers ready access to the topic. This new edition features 200 new, two-color illustrations (more than 750 in all), updated graphs and tables, as well as two new chapters titled ""Monitoring the Earth's Changes"" and ""Geologists of Note."" This volume's lucid, easy-to-follow text covers all the key rudiments of geology and is the perfect reference for students and geology lovers alike who share an interest in the great outdoors. Topics covered include: Air currents; Composition; Desertification; Greenhouse effect; Ice changes; Seafloor profiling; Seismic activity; Submersibles; Tides; and, Waterflow.
Call Number: QE28 .L22 2007 1st Flor (Ref.)
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
A Geography of Pennsylvania by E. Willard MillerThe culture and economy of Pennsylvania have been developing for more than 300 years. As a consequence, human activities have evolved from those based on primary occupations in the eighteenth century to the manufacturing economy of the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries to the tertiary functions of the late twentieth century. With each major change in economic structure the geographic patterns also changed. The Geography of Pennsylvania charts those changes and provides a spatial analysis of each key geographic function taking place in the state. This book will be an indispensable reference for those who want to understand the factors that shaped Pennsylvania into the dynamic society it is today.
Call Number: F149.8 .G46 1995 , 3rd Floor
Proquest Statistical Abstract of the United States 2016
Call Number: HA202 .P76 2016, 1st floor Reference
Publication Date: 2016
*Most Print Reference sources are located in the Research Services area in the library. (Main area/1st floor)