Banner
SRU Subscriptions
- American Periodicals This link opens in a new windowContains digitized images from American magazines and journals between 1741 and 1940. Spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1970- Present. Full-text coverage of minority issues in periodical literature. Includes Spanish language content.
- Newspapers.com This link opens in a new windowOffers full page newspaper images with searchable full-text for millions of newspapers. The collection includes digital reproductions.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowProvides cover-to-cover full text for selected regional, national (U.S.) & international newspapers.In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowCurrent and past editions available. To access the NYT, follow the following steps:
1. Go to the New York Times website via link or go to (https://www.nytimes.com)
2. Click Login at the top right corner of the NYT homepage
3. Select the option at the bottom: “Continue with work or school single sign-on” 0
4. Follow the prompts to login with your SRU email - Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001) This link opens in a new windowPart of the Historical Newspaper Database. It offers easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society, and events of the time.
- Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003) This link opens in a new windowPart of the Historical Newspaper Database. It offers easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society, and events of the time.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new windowIs a collection of full-text newswires from all over the world with coverage from business, political, economic, and other international news events.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowAccess to the digital edition of the Wall Street Journal is available to all SRU faculty, staff, and students. Registration is required using an SRU email address. Click here to begin registering via https://wsj.com/sru.
Open Access
Pennsylvania Newspapers
- Pennsylvania Civil War Era Newspaper CollectionContains all the words, photographs, and advertisements from selected newspapers published during the pivotal years before, during, and after the U.S. Civil War. Made available by Penn State University.
- Pennsylvania Newspaper ArchiveThe Pennsylvania Newspaper Archive is the gateway to the Commonwealth's historical full-text searchable newspaper database. Newspaper titles and holdings will continue to be added as they become available from all 67 counties stretching back to our colonial roots to the present.
- PA Power Library - Local Newspapers CollectionClick the dropdown for Local Newspapers
- PA Power Library - Historic Newspapers CollectionOnline repository featuring issues of many local Pittsburgh newspapers
- The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper ProjectThe Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project makes available more than one hundred years of Jewish newspapers published in Pittsburgh. Papers included are the Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), the American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), the Jewish Chronicle (1962-2010), and the Y-JCC series (1926-1975).
- The Pittsburgh PressPittsburgh newspaper covering news from 1888-1992
- Pittsburgh Tribune-ReviewCurrent Pittsburgh news
Slippery Rock Newspapers
Non-Local Newspapers
- Google NewspapersDigitized newspapers provided by Google
- Chronicling AmericaSearch America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.