This isn't a typo. INfrequently Asked Questions are the types of specific knowledge questions that may only be asked by one student or one group in this course, but are often good examples to demonstrate just what a wide rabbit hole a search for business information is. As I help students and answer questions, this section will expand.
| Which databases should I use in order to find information about renewable energy? |
|
There are a lot of ways to approach this question, but a few library databases I recommend are: Each should have a variety of articles addressing the topic, though Environment Complete may trend towards the environmental considerations and Business Source Complete the economic considerations.A more industry-specific database you may want to try is IBISWorld - it is a database that provides detailed reports about each industry and there's a report each for the Solar Energy, Wind Energy, and Hydroelectric Energy industries. You may also want to try government energy department websites from the country you are exploring renewable energy in: for example, the U.S. Department of Energy. |
| Are these company/industry/marketing resources available after I graduate? |
|
It depends. Many of the databases themselves (I.E. Business Source Complete, IBISWorld, Mergent Online) are not freely available to the public. They may offer individual subscriptions or a company you work for may have a subscription. More often, our databases provide SRU faculty and students access to many reports which a company or individual would have to purchase individually. Because you are currently a student affiliated with an institution of higher learning, However government databases, information, and websites are freely available because they must be available to the public. Thanks to these government resources and the power of the internet, it's still possible to conduct a solid analysis of a market or industry. In fact, a lot of market research reports are really just compilations of information obtained from government sources - they've done the analytical work and the compilation work, and drawn their own conclusions so that users don't have to. It's important to note that the information is credible and trustworthy, and the reports find facts, interpret facts, state facts, but at the end of the day, they are educated guesses or researched opinions. Their purpose is to compile information in an easier-to-read format, save you time, and keep you informed, but there is nothing preventing you from conducting your own analyses. Also, you may no longer be affiliated with a college or university after you graduate, but public libraries also provide access to some business research databases in support of small businesses. Some states have state libraries that you can subscribe to and receive access to other databases. The U.S. Library of Congress has extensive guides that detail how to conduct business research on a variety of topics using mostly public resources. It is well worth a look or even a bookmark if you find you have graduated or will be graduating soon but want to continue effective research. Library of Congress - Business Research Guides
|
| Are there resources that offer insights into global market dynamics? |
|
Yes! Some of them are even free to the public. It's a bit of a cop-out answer to point you to a research guide first, but the research guide created for a different course at SRU, MRKT 303 Issues in Global Business has links and more info to most of the databases I would recommend. Specifically for Global Market Dynamics (fancy term, and as an information researcher my first follow-up question would be, what do you mean by dynamics to be sure we are on the same page), I would focus on the following, GENERALLY: GlobalEDGE However, it's really important to note that the state of a country could also affect the businesses within it. You might want to visit government sources like the U.S. Department of State Travel Advisories to acquire information. The World Bank, provided by the U.N. might be another resource to check out. At the end of the day, the global resource you use really depends on what kind of information you are trying to find, but the ones mentioned above are good catch-alls/places to start. |
| Can you recommend a good search to use to begin researching sustainability and green/recyclable fashion? |
|
It's difficult to pin one library database down for green / recycled fashion and sustainability. Marketers, environmental specialists, and many more may all have an interest. I recommend starting with a search using keywords like green AND fashion or even just green fashion to see what develops. Just searching for green fashion results in about 10,000 hits in the Library Discovery Search, and you can further whittle that down pretty quickly by adding terms like sustainable, or sustainability... and then do it all again with recycled or recyclable fashion instead of green fashion. Consider also entering keywords instead of fashion - clothing, jewelry, accessories, etc. Here is a link to an example of one well-structured search you might try - keep in mind this takes a very, very BROAD look at all material available and will need to be adjusted. |