Databases to Try
DISCOVERY is the best place to search for theories. Theories are usually grouped, look for them in encyclopedias or under the theorist's last name. To find how theories are applied in psychology, look for articles. The information will be specific to a case.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Also called APA PsycInfo, it provides abstracts and citations to peer-reviewed journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
This link opens in a new window
- PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed citations may link to full-text articles or books. This free database includes MEDLINE (searchable using MeSH), full-text biomedical and life sciences journals, and books.
- This link opens in a new window
APA Citation Style
Why do we Need Theories?
- Why do we have theories Theories are vital: They guide and give meaning to what we see. When a researcher investigates and collects information through observation, the investigator needs a clear idea of what information is important to collect. Thus, valid theories are validated by research and are a sound basis for practical action. Costley, K. (2006). Why do we have theories. ERIC. ED491769
- Theories and models: What they are, what they are for, and what they are about Full-text article Fried, E. (2020) Theories and models: What they are, what they are for, and what they are about, Psychological Inquiry, 31(4), 336-344. https://doi. 10.1080/1047840X.2020.1854011
General Resources
- Encyclopedia of Psychology- Corsini Print, 4 volumes. Call number: BF31 .E52 1984
Psychologists & Theories
A selected list of theorists and their theories. Use it for your background knowledge, then search for scholarly information.