Resources for Advanced GIS
This guide features key resources for your course available through Bailey Library and some selected online sources.
Using the tabs in the top menu you will also find:
Electronic Journals
e-Books
Big Data for Remote Sensing: Visualization, Analysis and Interpretation
This book thoroughly covers the remote sensing visualization and analysis techniques based on computational imaging and vision in Earth science. Remote sensing is considered a significant information source for monitoring and mapping natural and man-made land through the development of sensor resolutions that committed different Earth observation platforms. The book includes related topics for the different systems, models, and approaches used in the visualization of remote sensing images. It offers flexible and sophisticated solutions for removing uncertainty from the satellite data. It introduces real time big data analytics to derive intelligence systems in enterprise earth science applications. Furthermore, the book integrates statistical concepts with computer-based geographic information systems (GIS). It focuses on image processing techniques for observing data together with uncertainty information raised by spectral, spatial, and positional accuracy of GPS data. The book addresses several advanced improvement models to guide the engineers in developing different remote sensing visualization and analysis schemes. Highlights on the advanced improvement models of the supervised/unsupervised classification algorithms, support vector machines, artificial neural networks, fuzzy logic, decision-making algorithms, and Time Series Model and Forecasting are addressed. This book guides engineers, designers, and researchers to exploit the intrinsic design remote sensing systems. The book gathers remarkable material from an international experts' panel to guide the readers during the development of earth big data analytics and their challenges.
ISBN: 9783319899220
Spatial Modeling in GIS and R for Earth and Environmental Science
Spatial Modeling in GIS and R for Earth and Environmental Sciences offers an integrated approach to spatial modelling using both GIS and R. Given the importance of Geographical Information Systems and geostatistics across a variety of applications in Earth and Environmental Science, a clear link between GIS and open source software is essential for the study of spatial objects or phenomena that occur in the real world and facilitate problem-solving. Organized into clear sections on applications and using case studies, the book helps researchers to more quickly understand GIS data and formulate more complex conclusions. The book is the first reference to provide methods and applications for combining the use of R and GIS in modeling spatial processes. It is an essential tool for students and researchers in earth and environmental science, especially those looking to better utilize GIS and spatial modeling.
Comprehensive Geographic Information Systems
Geographical Information Systems is a computer system used to capture, store, analyze and display information related to positions on the Earth's surface. It has the ability to show multiple types of information on multiple geographical locations in a single map, enabling users to assess patterns and relationships between different information points, a crucial component for multiple aspects of modern life and industry. This 3-volumes reference provides an up-to date account of this growing discipline through in-depth reviews authored by leading experts in the field. VOLUME EDITORS Thomas J. Cova The University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UT, United States Ming-Hsiang Tsou San Diego State University, San Diego, CA, United States Georg Bareth University of Cologne, Cologne, Germany Chunqiao Song University of California, Los Angeles, CA, United States Yan Song University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC, United States Kai Cao National University of Singapore, Singapore Elisabete A. Silva University of Cambridge, Cambridge, United Kingdom
ISBN: 9780128046609
Select Databases
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowReferences to journal articles and books in all areas related to the environment such as urbanism, waste, energy, pollution, science and technology, law, and more.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new windowGeoRef covers the geology of North America published from 1785 to the present, and the geology of the rest of the world published from 1933 to the present.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowIt provides scholarly, full-text, and bibliographic information covering all aspects of science, technology, and medicine.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is an abstract and citation database that includes 75 million records and nearly 25,000 titles in health sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and life sciences.
Search eBook Central
Search Ebook Central for e-Books by subject or keyword!
Anything Geospatial
Loading ...