About Federal Regulations
- Regulations are rules made by federal agencies. They define the way that agencies carry out law. The terms "rule" and "regulation" are interchangeable.
- Proposed rules are published first the the Federal Register. Proposed rules typically have a period of time that allows for public comment.
- Final rules are also published in the Federal Register and then codified in the Code of Federal Regulations. (CFR).
- Regulations can sometimes be found on websites for federal agencies.
The Federal Register
The Federal Register is the official daily gazette of the United States Government. It includes proposed and final regulations, notices of Federal agencies and organizations, and executive orders and presidential documents.
- The Federal RegisterEasily searchable version of the Federal Register which includes documents since 1994. Search by popular documents, agency, and topic, and limit by proposed and final rules. This site is jointly managed by the Office of the Federal Register, the National Archives, and the U.S. Government Publishing Office.
- The Federal Register (GovInfo)A browsable version of the Federal Register with documents back to 1936. GovInfo is the official system of record for authenticated and original copies of government documents.
- Code of Federal Regulations (GovInfo)The codification of rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government.
Other Sources for Federal Regulations
- Federal Agency WebsitesA-Z index of U.S. government departments and agencies.
- Regulations.govRegulations.gov provides public users with access to federal regulatory content. This site includes public comments and related materials for proposed regulations.
- Westlaw This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Westlaw is a legal database that includes secondary and primary legal sources. It contains statutes, codes, and case law. Westlaw also includes the legal encyclopedias, journals, treatises, and law reviews, as well as public and private business information and coverage of news sources.
Pennsylvania Regulations
- PA Agency DirectoryThis website provides links and more information for agencies, commissions, bureaus, boards, and other offices in Pennsylvania.
- Pennsylvania BulletinThe Pennsylvania Bulletin is the Commonwealth's official gazette for information and rulemaking. It includes proposed and final rules, state agency notices, Governor's proclamations and executive orders, and other official notices.
- Pennsylvania CodeThe Pennsylvania Code is the Commonwealth's official publication of rules and regulations.