Find Materials
Use the library catalog and discovery search to find books and other materials. A good search to try is to click on "Advanced Search", select library catalog from "Search Scope" and then to type the name of the country or region you are researching. If you get too many results, you can then refine your results further using the limiters on the right or by adding another keyword on line two, such as culture, tourism, etc.
Databases and Other Resources
For your project, you will need to find information about a specific country or region and conduct research about its history, people, language, religion, and other cultural characteristics.Some of the databases listed contain country profiles and cultural information while others are full of searchable articles that can help you discover what may be going on in the country or region and how it relates to global business.
- Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new windowGlobal Road Warrior provides detailed write-ups about all aspects of the world's countries. Some focuses include culture, customs, education, and history.
- Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new windowProvides information about countries, company and industry profiles, SWOT reports, and financial data.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles of scholarly journals in all disciplines of business, and financial data, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. - Westlaw This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Westlaw is a legal database that includes secondary and primary legal sources. It contains statutes, codes, and case law. Westlaw also includes the legal encyclopedias, journals, treatises, and law reviews, as well as public and private business information and coverage of news sources. For your project, you will likely focus on news sources.
- CIA World FactbookThe CIA (United States Central Intelligence Agency) World Factbook provides annual updates and information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
- globalEDGEglobalEDGE is a free resource maintained by the International Business Center at Michigan State University. It offers data on a slew of sources of interest to international entrepreneurs and students of international business, including country profiles, trade blocs, risk reports, and more.
- Columbia International Affairs Online Journals This link opens in a new windowCIAO is designed to be the most complete source for theory and research in international affairs.
- Gazetteer of the World This link opens in a new windowThe Gazetteer is a dynamic tool for understanding our changing world. The Gazetteer provides users with access to important information on more than 170,000 places and areas around the world.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, reports, and book reviews in virtually every discipline. - Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides a multidisciplinary coverage of scholarly information, including podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN, and videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. - AVON (Academic Video Online) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
It provides streaming videos from a variety of content such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, from around the world and across all subject areas.
- NationmasterSuitable for comparing some business information about various countries.
Business, UX, and Outreach Librarian
Library Research Tips
- Library Research TipsThis research guide can help library users learn all about conducting research using a library and its resources.