Guide Information
This guide was constructed primarily for use by Dr. Jeananne Nicholls Principles of Marketing course. However, information within may be of use to all Principles of Marketing students with adjustments for specific course assignments.
Where Can I Find the Information I Need?
In addition to your in-person research, library databases and retailer corporate websites will likely aid you the most in completing your project. A quick summary of the best databases to use is below.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text articles of scholarly journals in all disciplines of business, and financial data, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new windowProvides information about countries, company and industry profiles, SWOT reports, and financial data.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowProvides the company overviews, ratios, prospects, and more. This is an ideal resource for company or competitive research. (Note: This database is limited to 20 concurrent users.)
- U.S. Census BureauProvides a wealth of information about American communities. The information on this site can be daunting - try starting with Quickfacts - located part ways down the page.
- Corporate Web Sites (Link to Google Search)Public companies' websites often provide their annual reports, financial filings, and other information to the public through sections of their corporate websites. Search for the company's home page, (try a company's name or well-known brand and "corporate website") and look for a tab or link that mentions investors or financials. Note that if your retailer has a parent company you may find this information in their report.
- Westlaw This link opens in a new windowWestlaw is a legal database that includes secondary and primary legal sources. It contains statutes, codes, and case law. Westlaw also includes the legal encyclopedias, journals, treatises, and law reviews, as well as public and private business information and coverage of news sources. Access to Westlaw will end July 29, 2025.
Subject Guide
Research Help
Research Services - Spring 2025
Get live research assistance from a librarian via online chat or in-person (Ask at the library's 1st Floor Circulation Desk) during the following hours (All times EST).
| Monday - Thurs. | 10am - 4pm |
| Friday | 10am - 2pm |
Research assistance is also available via the Ask a Librarian e-mail form (you will receive a reply by the next business day).
You may also consider contacting your subject specialist librarian directly via the Ask Your Librarian page to ask a question directly or to schedule an appointment.