Welcome!
Welcome! This Course Guide addresses topics and resources well suited for use in Dr. Jordan's HCAM 499 class: Healthcare Theory & Research Capstone.
Slides and Resources
- Credibility and Bias SlidesSlides that teach about bias and credibility in the context of preparing for an informative presentation.
- HCAM 499 Research SlidesSlides that summarize a presentation given by librarian Rocco Cremonese about searching for sources for a Healthcare Administration and Management Research Capstone course.
Library Resources for Locating Articles
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowIdeal for articles related to management practices, business practices, and limited company or industry research.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new windowWhile chiefly a Nursing Database - CINAHL has many journals about illnesses, the medical field, etc. I recommend you search this database in tandem with MEDLINE.
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citations dating back to 1637.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE provides a selected collection of citations for articles published in journals approved by the National Library of Medicine. This database is a subset of PubMed.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowCombines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical, and health publications.
NOTE: To use this database effectively, it is advised you make heavy use of Boolean Operators for Advanced Searching and Interlibrary Loan for article retrieval.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar uses the familiar Google interface to search scholarly literature. Some results can be accessed full-text right from Google Scholar; in other cases you will need to access the article through a library database or request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Be aware that not every article you may find on Google Scholar is peer-reviewed/scholarly. See Scholarly v. Non-Scholarly under Research Tips.
- Westlaw This link opens in a new windowWestlaw is a legal database that includes secondary and primary legal sources. It contains statutes, codes, and case law. Westlaw also includes the legal encyclopedias, journals, treatises, and law reviews, as well as public and private business information and coverage of news sources.
- Interlibrary LoanPhone: (724) 738-4457
