Welcome! This Course Guide is constructed to help you conduct library research in Dr. Jopp's Critical Writing Course. Information within may also be valuable to other Critical Writing Courses as many of the resources within are suitable for library research on any position paper.
The library databases and resources on this page are likely to contain articles on social justice issues relating to family, education, technology, economics, gender, and race.
Start with the General Databases, and consider also searching within a Specialized Database once you are more comfortable/understand more about your topic. If you need help finding resources on your topic, make a Zoom appointment with me or reach out to me and colleagues using Ask A Librarian.
If you need additional information about conducting library research, using our databases, or citing resources, the tabs at the top of the screen will link you to helpful guides and videos. Good luck!
- Finding Sources and Creating a Search StrategyNew to library research? This handout will introduce you to Library Databases, the Library Discovery Search, and show you how to create a search strategy for your topic.
Topic Generation
Try the following resources (some library, some on the web) for ideas about debatable topics you could research for a position paper.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowProvides objective, forward-looking reporting that is designed to encourage discussion, to help readers think critically and to facilitate further research.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a variety of viewpoint essays and editorials revolving around current and historical issues and topics. Part of the Gale in Context series.
- Procon.orgProcon.org presents sourced pros and cons of debatable issues as well as a host of reference information relevant to those issues, which are thoroughly researched and compiled by Procon's research staff and editors.
- Pew Research CenterA "a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world." Offers opinion polling data and other statistics about a variety of issues.
- YourDictionary.com Entry on Social JusticeThis provides a very basic definition of social justice, but has some good examples of social justice issues if you want to know just a little more about each issue. A warning: this definitely falls more under "presearch" than hard research.and while the information may be credible, is not a peer-reviewed source.
- JStor DailyJStor Daily is an online magazine featuring original articles about events and issues in the news, with links to related scholarly content in the JStor database.
General Databases
Try searching these databases first. You will need to search more specifically than "Social justice" for articles related to your issue. I recommend starting with the databases under the "General Database" list, and then expanding into the "Specialized Subject" databases when you have a better feel for which subjects your topic may relate to.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides a multidisciplinary coverage of scholarly information, including podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN, and videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full-text scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, reports, and book reviews in virtually every discipline.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowProvides objective, forward-looking reporting that is designed to encourage discussion, to help readers think critically and to facilitate further research.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly articles and books in a wide range of subject areas, primarily social sciences and humanities. Also features an image search using materials derived from ARTstor.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a variety of viewpoint essays and editorials revolving around current and historical issues and topics. Part of the Gale in Context series.
Subject Databases
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowGSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to the present.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowFeatures unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. Coverage from 1970.
- Adam Matthew Collection This link opens in a new windowThe Adam Matthew collection provides access to primary source content in 78 collections, with a focus on historical and literary periods.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text articles of scholarly journals in all disciplines of business, and financial data, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowThis resource offers a vast amount of full-text sources covering all levels of education and educational specialties.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIt offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Abstracts and full-text articles starting in 1895.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed citations may link to full-text articles or books. This free database includes MEDLINE (searchable using MeSH), full-text biomedical and life sciences journals, and books.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE provides a selected collection of citations for articles published in journals approved by the National Library of Medicine. This database is a subset of PubMed.
- Westlaw This link opens in a new windowWestlaw is a legal database that includes secondary and primary legal sources. It contains statutes, codes, and case law. Westlaw also includes the legal encyclopedias, journals, treatises, and law reviews, as well as public and private business information and coverage of news sources. Access to Westlaw will end July 29, 2025.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowAn interdisciplinary collection of high-quality, peer-reviewed journals, with an emphasis on the humanities and social sciences.
Subject Specialist Librarian
Research Help
Research Services - Spring 2025
Get live research assistance from a librarian via online chat or in-person (Ask at the library's 1st Floor Circulation Desk) during the following hours (All times EST).
| Monday - Thurs. | 10am - 4pm |
| Friday | 10am - 2pm |
Research assistance is also available via the Ask a Librarian e-mail form (you will receive a reply by the next business day).
You may also consider contacting your subject specialist librarian directly via the Ask Your Librarian page to ask a question directly or to schedule an appointment.