Databases from Bailey Library
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Also called APA PsycInfo, it provides abstracts and citations to peer-reviewed journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
This link opens in a new window
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to selected journals from the American Psychological Association.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences This link opens in a new window Covers emotional and behavioral topics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, observational and experimental methods. Full text.
You can search all three databases together. Remember to click "Choose Databases" from the Basic Search
The Article is NOT Full-Text
If the article you need is not full text, click on the "Check for full text" link.
If you are receiving the message below, the article is NOT full-text and you will need to use Interlibrary Loan.
To request material from Interlibrary Loan, you need to first set up your account.
Things to Know When Searching PsycINFO
Boolean Operators
-
AND, NOT= narrows the search
-
OR= broadens the search
Wildcards
#: The “#” replaces any extra characters that may appear in alternative spellings.
-
For example, “colo#r” finds both color and colour.
?: The “?” replaces one character
-
For example “ne?t” finds neat, nest, or next, but will not find net.
*: The “*” replaces any number of characters and will find all forms of a word root
-
For example, “therap*” finds therapy, therapies, therapist, therapists, therapeutic, therapeutically, etc.
Searching PsycINFO Database
The database you will use to find scholarly articles for psychology is PsycINFO
- Select the Advanced Search
- Type your keywords in the search boxes
- Select "Published Date"
- Select "Publication Type" (Peer Reviewed Journal)
- Under "Methodology" select "Empirical Study"
- Check the box for "Exclude Dissertations"
You can use the Thesaurus in PsycINFO to help you focus more on the topic you are searching. Look at the video below for a brief tutorial on how to use the database