Access Medicine (McGraw-Hill)
- Access Medicine This link opens in a new window A comprehensive medical resource that includes textbooks, practice guidelines, diagnostic tests, patient education, drug dosing, cases, and quick reference tools.
This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Databases (EBSCO)
The Cochrane Library is made of seven databases. Bailey Library subscribes to the following:
- Cochrane Clinical Answers This link opens in a new window It provides readable, evidence-based answers to hundreds of clinical questions. Sources offer an answer and relevant evidence.
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials This link opens in a new window It contains references to randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials from PubMed, Embase, Cinahl, WHO's International Clinical Trial Registry, and ClinicalTrials.gov. Only summaries of the articles.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window It contains full-text articles and protocols on healthcare. Sources are evidence-based and peer-reviewed to minimize bias. Data is often statistical meta-analysis.
- Cochrane Methodology Register This link opens in a new window It is a bibliography of methods to conduct controlled trials relevant to anyone preparing systematic reviews. Information is from many sources, including MEDLINE.
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO)
- Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window This database includes full text to magazines, journals, and information written for patient information and education on all aspects of health.
Medline & PubMed
Medline The content of Medline is available through different subscription search interfaces—at Bailey Library is through EBSCOhost. Medline is also a subset of PubMed.
- Use it for MeSH searching, lots of limiting options
- The interface is easier to use than PubMed
PubMed is a free database maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information, at the National Library of Medicine.
- Use it for MeSH searching, clinical queries, genetic topics, systematic reviews
- Use it to find "in process" citations, older citations, citations to non-medical journals, citations to ebooks
- When you cannot access a subscription database
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new window MEDLINE provides a selected collection of citations for articles published in journals approved by the National Library of Medicine. This database is a subset of PubMed.
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed
- PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed citations may link to full-text articles or books. This free database includes MEDLINE (searchable using MeSH), full-text biomedical and life sciences journals, and books.
- This link opens in a new window
PsychINFO (EBSCO)
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Also called APA PsycInfo, it provides abstracts and citations to peer-reviewed journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
- This link opens in a new window
UpToDate (Wolters Kluwer)
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window An evidence-based, physician-authored resource for point-of-care decisions. Cases management, images, and references are included as well as links to related topics.
- This link opens in a new window