Social Determinants of Health
The Healthy People program, out of the US Department of Health and Human Services Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, defines them as:
" the conditions in the environments where people are born, live, learn, work, play, worship, and age that affect a wide range of health, functioning, and quality-of-life outcomes and risks."
Social determinants of health can be broken out broadly into 5 domains:
Resources
- PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed citations may link to full-text articles or books. This free database includes MEDLINE (searchable using MeSH), full-text biomedical and life sciences journals, and books.
This link opens in a new window
Validated Surveys
Validated Surveys: they have been tested to ensure production of reliable, accurate results.
There are no statistical tests for validity. Usually, the instrument has been used and noted as "valid", therefore repeated use is a strong indication that the instrument measure what it set out to measure.
You always need to ask permission when using a survey-- validated or not. In general, validate survey change a fee.
To locate validates tests/surveys first search in Google. Enter the title of the test/survey in quotations: "back depression inventory"
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window Mental Measurements Yearbook, from the Buros Institute, contains the most recent descriptive information and critical reviews of new and revised tests from the Buros Institute's 9th- 15th Yearbooks.
- Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window Provides references to assessment and measurement tools. Include surveys, questionnaires, checklists, rating scales, tests, and other means of evaluation. Note: This database can be accessed by only one user at a time.
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window The most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citations dating back to 1637.