Engineering xriv
engrXiv is a preprint server for engineering research
Select Engineering Journals
Reference sources
Mechanical Design Engineering Handbook by
Mechanical Design Engineering Handbook, Second Edition, is a straight-talking and forward-thinking reference covering the design, specification, selection, use and integration of the machine elements that are fundamental to a wide range of engineering applications. This updated edition includes new material on tolerancing, alternative approaches to design, and robotics, as well as references to the latest ISO and US engineering regulations. Sections cover bearings, shafts, gears, seals, belts and chains, clutches and brakes, springs, fasteners, pneumatics and hydraulics, amongst other core mechanical elements. This practical handbook is an ideal shelf reference for those working in mechanical design across a variety of industries. In addition, it is also a valuable learning resource for advanced students undertaking engineering design modules and projects as part of broader mechanical, aerospace, automotive and manufacturing programs. Presents a clear, concise text that explains key component technology, with step-by-step procedures, fully worked design scenarios, component images and cross-sectional line drawings Provides essential data, equations and interactive ancillaries, including calculation spreadsheets, to inform decision-making, design evaluation and incorporation of components into overall designs Includes procedures and methods that are covered to national and international standards where appropriate New to this edition: flow-charts to help select technology; Failure Mode Effects Analysis (FMEA), product, service and system design models, Functional Analysis Diagrams (FADs), Design for Excellence (DFX), Design for MADE, and the process of remanufacture
Modern Fluid Dynamics
Modern Fluid Dynamics, Second Edition provides up-to-date coverage of intermediate and advanced fluids topics. The text emphasizes fundamentals and applications, supported by worked examples and case studies. Scale analysis, non-Newtonian fluid flow, surface coating, convection heat transfer, lubrication, fluid-particle dynamics, microfluidics, entropy generation, and fluid-structure interactions are among the topics covered. Part A presents fluids principles, and prepares readers for the applications of fluid dynamics covered in Part B, which includes computer simulations and project writing. A review of the engineering math needed for fluid dynamics is included in an appendix.
Industrial Environmental Management by
Provides aspiring engineers with pertinent information and technological methodologies on how best to manage industry's modern-day environment concerns This book explains why industrial environmental management is important to human environmental interactions and describes what the physical, economic, social, and technological constraints to achieving the goal of a sustainable environment are. It emphasizes recent progress in life-cycle sustainable design, applying green engineering principles and the concept of Zero Effect Zero Defect to minimize wastes and discharges from various manufacturing facilities. Its goal is to educate engineers on how to obtain an optimum balance between environmental protections, while allowing humans to maintain an acceptable quality of life. Industrial Environmental Management: Engineering, Science, and Policy covers topics such as industrial wastes, life cycle sustainable design, lean manufacturing, international environmental regulations, and the assessment and management of health and environmental risks. The book also looks at the economics of manufacturing pollution prevention; how eco-industrial parks and process intensification will help minimize waste; and the application of green manufacturing principles in order to minimize wastes and discharges from manufacturing facilities. Provides end-of-chapter questions along with a solutions manual for adopting professors Covers a wide range of interdisciplinary areas that makes it suitable for different branches of engineering such as wastewater management and treatment; pollutant sampling; health risk assessment; waste minimization; lean manufacturing; and regulatory information Shows how industrial environmental management is connected to areas like sustainable engineering, sustainable manufacturing, social policy, and more Contains theory, applications, and real-world problems along with their solutions Details waste recovery systems Industrial Environmental Management: Engineering, Science, and Policy is an ideal textbook for junior and senior level students in multidisciplinary engineering fields such as chemical, civil, environmental, and petroleum engineering. It will appeal to practicing engineers seeking information about sustainable design principles and methodology.
Select Ebooks
Introduction to Finite Element Analysis for Engineers by
Finite Element Analysis for Engineers introduces FEA as a technique for solving differential equations, and for application to problems in Civil, Mechanical, Aerospace and Biomedical Engineering and Engineering Science & Mechanics. Intended primarily for senior and first-year graduate students, the text is mathematically rigorous, but in line with students' math courses. Organized around classes of differential equations, the text includes MATLAB code for selected examples and problems. Both solid mechanics and thermal/fluid problems are considered. Based on the first author's class-tested notes, the text builds a solid understanding of FEA concepts and modern engineering applications.
Oil and Gas Pipelines and Piping Systems by
Oil and Gas Pipelines and Piping Systems: Design, Construction, Management, and Inspection delivers all the critical aspects needed for oil and gas piping and pipeline condition monitoring and maintenance, along with tactics to minimize costly disruptions within operations. Broken up into two logical parts, the book begins with coverage on pipelines, including essential topics, such as material selection, designing for oil and gas central facilities, tank farms and depots, the construction and installment of transportation pipelines, pipe cleaning, and maintenance checklists. Moving over to piping, information covers piping material selection and designing and construction of plant piping systems, with attention paid to flexibility analysis on piping stress, a must-have component for both refineries with piping and pipeline systems. Heavily illustrated and practical for engineers and managers in oil and gas today, the book supplies the oil and gas industry with a must-have reference for safe and effective pipeline and piping operations.
Search Ebook Central
Search Ebook Central for e-Books by subject or keyword!