e-Books
Applied Sedimentology by
A revised edition of the text on applied sedimentology, first published in 1988. Like its precursor, it describes sediments from sand grains to sedimentary basins. Part One, Rock to Sediment, introduces the concept of the sedimentary cycle, describes weathering and soil formation, and the fundamental physical properties of a sediment -texture, porosity and permeability. Part Two, Sediment Sedimented, begins by describing the transportation and deposition of sediment, and the resultant sedimentary structures. Part Three, Sediment to Rock, opens by describing how pressure, temperature and fluid processes control petroleum and oil formation. The last chapter describes the different types of sedimentary basin, their origins, depositional fill, and the evolution of their fluids.
Principles of Sequence Stratigraphy by
Principles of Sequence Stratigraphy provides an in-depth coverage and impartial assessment of all current ideas and models in the field of sequence stratigraphy. Even though widely popular among all groups interested in the analysis of sedimentary basin fills, both in academia and in the industry, sequence stratigraphy is yet a difficult undertaking due to an overwhelming jargon and the persistence of conflicting approaches as to how the sequence stratigraphic method should be applied to the rock record. This textbook examines the relationship between such conflicting approaches from the perspective of a unifying platform, demonstrating that sufficient common ground exists to eliminate terminology barriers and to facilitate communication between all practitioners of sequence stratigraphy. This work is not only a review of past and current literature, but also includes key original viewpoints and is illustrated with new graphic material and numerous field examples of outcrop, core, well log and 3D seismic data in full colour. The book is addressed to anyone interested in understanding and applying the method of sequence stratigraphic analysis, from students to geologists, geophysicists and reservoir engineers. Sequence stratigraphy remains the most recent paradigm in the broad field of sedimentary geology, with tremendous potential to deciphering the record of global change and to improving the success of economic exploration. * Offers theoretical guidelines of how the facies and time relationships are expected to be under specific circumstances such as subsidence patterns, sediment supply, topographic gradients, etc. * Contains numerous high-quality and full-color diagrams, photographs and illustrations, virtually on every aid in comprehension of the subject * Features a dedicated chapter on discussions and conclusions incorporating all previous chapters with references, basic principles and strategies * Provides an extensive list of references for further reading, as well as an author and subject index for quick information access
Tectonic Geomorphology by
Tectonic geomorphology is the study of the interplay between tectonic and surface processes that shape the landscape in regions of active deformation and at time scales ranging from days to millions of years. Over the past decade, recent advances in the quantification of both rates and the physical basis of tectonic and surface processes have underpinned an explosion of new research in the field of tectonic geomorphology. Modern tectonic geomorphology is an exceptionally integrative field that utilizes techniques and data derived from studies of geomorphology, seismology, geochronology, structure, geodesy, stratigraphy, meteorology and Quaternary science. While integrating new insights and highlighting controversies from the ten years of research since the 1st edition, this 2nd edition of Tectonic Geomorphology reviews the fundamentals of the subject, including the nature of faulting and folding, the creation and use of geomorphic markers for tracing deformation, chronological techniques that are used to date events and quantify rates, geodetic techniques for defining recent deformation, and paleoseismologic approaches to calibrate past deformation. Overall, this book focuses on the current understanding of the dynamic interplay between surface processes and active tectonics. As it ranges from the timescales of individual earthquakes to the growth and decay of mountain belts, this book provides a timely synthesis of modern research for upper-level undergraduate and graduate earth science students and for practicing geologists. Additional resources for this book can be found at: <a href="http://www.wiley.com/go/burbank/geomorphology">www.wiley.com/go/burbank/geomorphology.
ebrary e-books
Search e-brary for e-Books by subject or keyword
Books in Bailey Library
Search for books and e-books by subject or keyword using the library catalog.
or browse the shelves on the 3rd floor:
|
Description |
Call Numbers |
|
Geology |
QE |
|
General geology |
QE1-QE50 |
|
Geology by geographic region |
QE51-QE350 |
|
Mineralogy |
QE351-QE399 |
|
Petrology |
QE420-QE499 |
|
Structural Geology |
QE500-QE613 |
|
Stratigraphy |
QE640-QE699 |
|
Paleontology |
QE701-QE996 |
|
Geophysics |
QC801-QC809 |
|
|
|
|
Geomorphology |
GB400-GB649 |
|
Hydrogeology |
GB651-GB2298 |
Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of Geology by
This unrivalled, five-volume reference work covers all aspects of geology including earth history, earth materials, surface processes, regional geology, economic geology, engineering geology, petroleum geology, geochemical and mineral exploration, and the history of geology. The techniques of remote sensing and other tools of investigation that have advanced rapidly over the last few decades are described in detail. Encyclopedia of Geology is divided into 340 articles, each covering one aspect of geology. The concepts and theory are explained at a level that allows undergraduates and educated lay people to understand them. The reference has been planned and structured to provide the user with a comprehensive coverage of the core knowledge in each area. It will become the reference of choice for today's geologists and beyond. Also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com. 340 articles Over 2500 pages Full colour throughout Theory and applications of geology Extensive cross-referencing Further Reading lists accompany each article
Call Number: QE5 .E516 2005x , 3rd floorPublication Date: 2004- The Geology of Pennsylvania byCall Number: QE157 .G413 1999, 1st Fl. ReferencePublication Date: 1998
Reference Sources
Oxford Dictionary of Geography by
This invaluable dictionary provides comprehensive coverage in one volume of both human and physical geography. For this third edition, existing entries have been fully revised and updated, and 345 new new entries have been added, making this essential reference for all students of geography,whether at school or university.It is the most up-to-date dictionary of geography available, with over 6,000 clear and concise definitions. Authoritative entries encompass the range of the subject, including cartography, surveying, meteorology, climatology, ecology, population, industry, and development, and there is up-to-datetreatment of topics such as plate tectonics, remote sensing, geographic information systems, and aerial differentiation. The Factfinder appendix with key economic and and population statistics for nearly 40 countries has also been brought fully up to date.
Call Number: G63 .M39 2004 x, 1st floorPublication Date: 2004
The Field Guide to Geology by
Written by a team of eminent geologists and educators, ""The Field Guide to Geology, New Edition"" features revised information that brings the previous edition up to date. Clear graphics and simple field-guide procedures offer readers ready access to the topic. This new edition features 200 new, two-color illustrations (more than 750 in all), updated graphs and tables, as well as two new chapters titled ""Monitoring the Earth's Changes"" and ""Geologists of Note."" This volume's lucid, easy-to-follow text covers all the key rudiments of geology and is the perfect reference for students and geology lovers alike who share an interest in the great outdoors. Topics covered include: Air currents; Composition; Desertification; Greenhouse effect; Ice changes; Seafloor profiling; Seismic activity; Submersibles; Tides; and, Waterflow.
Call Number: QE28 .L22 2007 1st Flor (Ref.)Publication Date: 2006-12-01
Proquest Statistical Abstract of the United States 2016Call Number: HA202 .P76 2016, 1st floor ReferenceISBN: 9781598887938Publication Date: 2016
*Most Print Reference sources are located in the Research Services area in the library. (Main area/1st floor)