All materials can be located via the library catalog. For assistance using the catalog, consult the "Using the Library Catalog" page. Also, feel free to ask any library personnel for assistance locating library materials: if they cannot assist you they will direct you to someone who can. Lastly, remember that if Bailey Library does not have direct access to a material you want, you may still request it via Interlibrary Loan.
Main Collection (2nd Floor A-C, 3rd Floor D-Z): Bailey Library's main collection of over 400,000 print books is located on the 2nd and 3rd floors and organized by call number using the Library of Congress' Classification System. All materials are available for check out.
Instructional Materials Center (IMC): The Instructional Materials Center, or IMC, is located on the 2nd floor. The IMC provides resources and materials to support the education and training of students enrolled in the College of Education. It is full of children’s books, young adult literature, audiovisual materials, games, K-12 textbooks, and classroom activity kits. Students of all disciplines can check out IMC materials. They are organized by the Dewey Decimal System and by kit number.
Journals and Newspapers: Current journals, magazines, and newspapers are located in the 1st floor Research Services room. They are not available for check out, but copiers and scanners are available. Please be aware that all materials are still subject to copyright law.
Bound Journals and Government Documents: Past print journals are bound into volumes and stored in the library basement Government documents are also stored in the library basement. Patrons and students are unable to access the basement at this time: however, those wishing to consult a bound journal or government document may locate materials by consulting the library catalog and requesting the material at the Circulation Desk. It will be acquired and made available to you. Government documents may be checked out.
Folios: Folios, or oversized books, are located on the 3rd floor.
Reading Room: The Bailey Library reading room is located on the 3rd floor: it contains contemporary and popular works. Note that the Reading Room works are organized by the last name of the author rather than the Library of Congress Classification System.
University Archives: The Slippery Rock University Archives collects and makes available material of enduring research value created by the University community over the course of our history. These include organizational records, photographs, film and audio records of campus activities and events.
Databases (Electronic Books and Electronic Journals): Bailey Library subscribes to electronic databases containing over 76,000+ online journals, magazines, newspapers, and other electronic resources. Access to titles is granted via the Library Catalog. Most databases can be searched via the library's database pages for journal articles and similar materials that vary by database. Databases are accessed via the library's articles/databases page and via Subject LibGuides. (See videos below for guidance.)
With few exceptions, Bailey Library's databases can be accessed whether you are on or off-campus. However, off-campus students will need their SRU Login and password or their Library Barcode to access databases.