Introduction
In addition to the databases located under Company Research and Industry Research, additional databases focused on medical fields index publications that may be useful to Health Care Administration and Management students. Refer to the list below for some of these databases.
Resources
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete may have some articles on financial or management issues that address your topic. Additionally, some trade publications that may not be indexed in CINAHL or MEDline but deal with Healthcare Management related issues may be found. - CINAHL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Specifically designed for nursing students. Includes journals and reference materials, streaming video for common procedures, peer-reviewed nursing articles, and more. - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowIt provides scholarly, full-text, and bibliographic information covering all aspects of science, technology, and medicine.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar uses the familiar Google interface to search scholarly literature. Some results can be accessed full-text right from Google Scholar; in other cases you will need to access the article through a library database or request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Be aware that not every article you may find on Google Scholar is peer-reviewed/scholarly. See the peer-reviewed/not peer-reviewed sidebar.
Peer-Reviewed / Not Peer-Reviewed
What is a peer-reviewed journal?
A "peer-reviewed" (also known as a "scholarly" or "refereed") journal is one whose articles must pass a rigorous acceptance process through which a team of impartial experts or scholars in a field have carefully evaluated and vetted each article to ensure it exemplifies the best research practices of the field it is in.
How can I determine if an article is peer-reviewed?
Most library databases have a search option that allows you to indicate you only wish to view peer-reviewed journals or articles.
Another option is to locate the publication the article is published in and read the "about us" and/or "submissions" sections. These may indicate whether or not submissions go through a peer-review process.
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory (see below) is a listing of most of the periodicals (magazines, newspapers, newsletters, journals, etc.) that are available. It is very useful for determining if a publication is peer-reviewed (Ulrich's indicates these as "Refereed" publications) or finding the publication's website and other information so you can check for yourself.
If you need help verifying whether or not a publication is peer-reviewed, you can always contact your friendly librarians at Bailey Library.